World talent awarded

ANOTHER WIN: Lydia Ko took out the top prize in this year’s AIMES Awards.
ANOTHER WIN: Lydia Ko took out the top prize in this year’s AIMES Awards.

Golfer Lydia Ko continued an outstanding year by being named the North Harbour Club AIMES Award Supreme Winner.

The AIMES Awards were presented at a gala dinner at the Bruce Mason Centre, Takapuna on Saturday evening.

As well as winning the Supreme Award, Lydia won the Award for Excellence in Sport, taking home a total of $25,000.

Lydia, 15, is the top-ranked womans' amateur golfer in the world.

Her competitive year started in Australia at the Australian Amateur where she became the youngest winner in its history, and then winning the NSW Open in Sydney in late January with a four shot victory.

In Cleveland, Ohio, Lydia became the youngest winner of the US Women's Amateur, with nine rounds.

Following this she was presented with the Mark H. McCormack Medal as the top women's amateur for the second consecutive year.

In August, Lydia became the youngest-ever winner of an LPGA Tour event when she won the Canadian Women's Open.

The North Harbour Club has hosted the AIMES Awards for 18 years, raising and distributing more than $1.5 million to support the outstanding achievements of North Harbour youth.

Matthew Bellingham, North Harbour Club president, says: "It's a real thrill for club members to watch so many of the winners achieve their dreams in the years after their award."

The following are the recipients of the 2012 awards: Supreme AIMES Award for Excellence Lydia Ko ($15,000). Award for Excellence in The Arts Rob Tucker, artist ($10,000).

Award for Excellence in IT, Innovation and Science Amy Smith, neurological scientist ($10,000).

Award for Excellence in Music Jason Bae, pianist ($10,000). Award for Excellence in Education Andrew MacDonald, scholar & doctor ($10,000).

Award for Excellence in Sport Lydia Ko, golfer, ($10,000).

Award for Excellence in Service to the Community Joseph Bergin, Community Ambassador, ($10,000).

Six young ‘rising stars' have been named as the recipients of the 2012 North Harbour Club Emerging Talent Awards. Each received $5,000. They are Ben Sanders, Nick Hall, Petra Bullock, Mattea Mrkusic, Teneale Hatton, Sarah Mitchell and Jeremy Reid.

North Shore Times