Springbank students land doubble win

01:43, Jan 31 2009
BRANCHING OUT: Back from left, Michael Roberts and James Richardson. In front, Hilary Derrick, Keegan Rumble and Olivia Manning.

In an unprecedented performance, Springbank School teams shared the honours in the national Community Challenge and Innovation Competition, involving 169 schools.

Fellow students Olivia Manning, Hilary Derrick, James Richardson, Mike Roberts and Keegan Rumble designed and are producing an informative sign promoting the Puketi Forest Trust. Their project is called Branching Out.

Five students from the two Year 9 teams will be selected to represent their groups at a prizegiving ceremony in Wellington. Each team receives $1500 prizemoney and $1000 to complete the projects.

TE KIDDEE KIDDEE: Back from left, Jonathan Scotney, Vincent Claus and Patrick Deely. In fron Dana Owens and Alexa Fraser.

Another Springbank team of Bridget Thackwray, Pahu Hepana, Amelia Smith and Leuka Christensen was fourth in the contest for its Wai Tai Waka (Rewa?s Village) project. The team also gets $1000 to complete its project.

In the innovative product division, which attracted 39 entries nationwide, Year 8 school students Ryan Baxter, Alastair Sheard, Max Lott, Kane Noordman, and Anders Egeland-Eriksen were second and get $1000 for their Ezy Tan (The Tanning Tent). They were competing against Year 10 students.

Another school team - Rachel Smith, Abbi Robinson and Zoe Taylor - was third and gets $500 for a netball training device, Goal Max.

A happy enterprise extraordinaire teacher Michelle Chapman is looking forward to the trip to Wellington with the students.


The Bay Chronicle