Papakura look to build runs

18:24, Nov 27 2012
Karaka Vs Weymouth
Karaka celebrate the wicket of Weymouth's Matt Hawkins. Men's Premier Cricket, Twenty/20, Karaka v Weymouth, Bruce Pulman park Papakura, Saturday 24th November 2012. Photo: Shane Wenzlick
Karaka Vs Weymouth
Weymouth's Matt Hawkins is bowled.
Karaka Vs Weymouth
Weymouth's Brook Simpson makes his way back to the pavilion.
Karaka Vs Weymouth
Karaka's Sam Keat organises his team.
Karaka Vs Weymouth
Karaka's D. Simpson bowls.
Karaka Vs Weymouth
Weymouth's Brook Simpson (left) and Matt Hawkins run between the wickets.

Papakura will be chasing quick runs when day two of their Counties Manukau club cricket two-day match against Weymouth gets under way at Mountfort Park, Manurewa, on Saturday.

The visitors will resume on 35-2 and will be pressed into taking a one-day approach to the rest of the match after all but an hour of day one was washed out.

Papakura will be looking to their in-form Counties Manukau representatives, captain Nick Kelly and wicketkeeper/batsman Shane Gadsdon, for runs.

They were the spine of the Counties Manukau innings against Hamilton in a Fergus Hickey Rosebowl match at Galloway Park in Hamilton last Sunday. They had respective scores of 59 and 63 and plan to pick up where they left off.

Manukau will be hoping Tom Urry will bring to their match against Pukekohe-Metro the form that saw him take five wickets against Hamilton last weekend. The match is being played at Bledisloe Park in Pukekohe. Day one of this match was also washed out as was the first day of the match between Waiuku and Karaka at Massey Park, Waiuku.

Draw: Weymouth v Papakura, Mountfort Park, Weymouth. Waiuku v Karaka, Massey Park, Waiuku. Pukekohe-Metro v Manukau, Bledisloe Park, Pukekohe.


Start: 11am

Twenty20 finalists found

Pukekohe-Metro is the first team through to the final of Counties Manukau club cricket's twenty20 competition.

They qualified for their fourth Inder Lynch Trophy final in five years with comprehensive seven-wicket wins over Manukau and Waiuku in rounds four and five of the twenty20 championship at Bruce Pulman Park in Papakura last Saturday.

Their opponents will be either Manukau or Waiuku, who are still to meet in the final round of pool play on December 8.

Both had a win and a loss last Saturday to stay in contention.

Manukau have a four-point lead over Waiuku but are not about to count their chickens. They know that Waiuku's best chance is to win on December 8 and force a countback.

Karaka, Papakura and Weymouth are out of the running.

The relative ease with which Pukekohe-Metro accounted for Manukau and Waiuku last Saturday suggests they will be odds-on favourites to defend their title on February 16.

They restricted their opponents to under 100 runs in both matches. Manukau made 91-9 off their 20 overs and Waiuku 97.

Corey Hunter, 3-18, and Jonny Wilkinson, 2-9, wrecked Manukau's innings and Wilkinson 3-8 and Aaron Colin 3-14 put Waiuku to the sword.

Pukekohe-Metro's batsmen were untroubled in chasing down their targets. They made 93-3 against Manukau and 100-3 against Waiuku.

Papakura had a win and a loss, but a poor start to their twenty20 campaign meant they were never going to be in contention for a place in the final. They lost by seven wickets to Waiuku and savoured a win against neighbours Karaka.

Papakura will have been disappointed with the loss to Waiuku. They batted first and scored a respectable 165-5 off their 20 overs with Devon Jones 38, Danny Shine 37, and Harley Jenkins 35, giving spine to their innings.

But Bharat Dogra's 89 shattered any hopes Papakura harboured as Waiuku reached 166-3.

The win against Karaka was easier. Gavin Mudford, 3-15, and Ryan Strydom, 3-21, restricted Karaka to 109, a total Papakura ran down with the loss of three wickets.

Karaka was involved in the only tie of the competition so far.

They shared the points with Weymouth after both finished their 20 overs on 117.

Weymouth made 117-7 and Karaka replied with 117-8.

Weymouth lost their second match of the day to neighbours Manukau, 45 runs. Manukau made 198-3 and Weymouth reached 156-6 in reply.


Round three: Weymouth 117-7 (Brook Simpson 36, Matt Hawkins 27. Stu Kett 3-29, Rob Dunning 2-17) tied with Karaka 117-8 (David Pearce 36, Rob Dunning 22 n/o. Dylan Ralph 3-13, Matt Hunia 2-23).

Papakura 165-5 (Devon Jones 38, Danny Shine 37, Harley Jenkins 35) lost to Waiuku 166-3 (Bharat Dogra 89, Ryan Ruddell 26, Haseeb Ashraf 26) by seven wickets.

Manukau 91-9 (Dean Giles 17. Corey Hunter 3-18, Jonny Wilkinson 2-9) lost to Pukekohe-Metro 93-3 (Matt Wilson 47. Andrew Kuklinski 2-14) by seven wickets.

Round four: Karaka 109 (David Simpson 35, Sam Varcoe 24. Gavin Mudford 3-15, Ryan Strydom 3-21) lost to Papakura 110-3 (Danny Shine 43 n/o, Devon Jones 29 n/o) by seven wickets.

Manukau 198-3 (Ant Niterl 77 n/o, Fraser Allan 41, Aswyn Herwels (senior) 39. Rhupinder Gill 2-35) beat Weymouth 153-6 (Haamiora Clarke 43, Glen Stokes 24. Dean Sutherland 2-22) by 45 runs.

Waiuku 97 (Ryan Ruddell 57. Jonny Wilkinson 3-8, Aaron Colin 3-14) lost to Pukekohe-Metro 100-3 (Matt Zydenbos 24 n/o, Sam Wilkinson 22) by seven wickets.

Points (after four rounds): Pukekohe-Metro 16, Manukau 12, Waiuku 8, Karaka 6, Papakura 4, Weymouth 2.