Amazing Race Australia wins Emmy

Last updated 17:56 20/11/2012
Grant Bowler

INTERNATIONAL ACCLAIM: The Amazing Race Australia, hosted by Kiwi Grant Bowler.

Relevant offers


Heineken ad Worlds Apart from Pepsi shambles The Bachelor NZ: Fleur Verhoeven lashes out after ex-bachelor says it was all for the cameras Aquaman's Jason Momoa shares photo with on-screen father Temuera Morrison The writer's strike primer: who wins, who loses and how bad your TV will get Drone flyover of possible Block NZ site shows work is under way for 2017 Johnny Depp makes surprise appearance in Pirates of the Caribbean ride Pair of huia appear in spontaneous act of Palmerston North place making City theatre's first holiday workshop teaches kids about storytelling and play Seth Rogen and Billy Eichner to voice Timon and Pumbaa in Lion King Listening Post: Kendrick Lamar/The Jesus and Mary Chain/Thomas Oliver/Mark Lanegan

The Amazing Race Australia has won top honours at the 40th International Emmy Awards.

The show defeated several challengers in the non-scripted entertainment category, including the iconic Spanish show El Hormiguero, which was nominated in the same category for two years running without a win.

The award was accepted by Active TV president Michael McKay and the show's host, New Zealand actor Grant Bowler.

Meanwhile, despite five prestigious international award nominations to her name, Australia's acclaimed drama The Slap has yet again been denied the big prize.

The series, which starred Melissa George, Jonathan LaPaglia and Alex Dimitriades, has already chalked up nominations at the BAFTAs, the Monte Carlo Television Festival, the BANFF World Media Festival and from The Royal Television Society in the UK.

Braquo, which stars Jean-Hugues Anglade and has drawn comparisons to the US series The Shield, took the award in the drama category.

A total of 38 nominees from 15 countries in nine categories were in line for awards.

A third possible award for Australia, for Absolutely Fabulous producer Justin Davies, did not fall our way. Though the 20th anniversary season of Absolutely Fabulous went into the competition a favourite, it was beaten by the Brazilian series A Mulher Invisível ("The Invisible Woman").

A number of Australians were in attendance at the awards, including Davies, The Slap's producer Tony Ayres and its star, Melissa George.

Australian actress Rachael Taylor was also at the event at New York's Hilton Hotel. Taylor, whose US series 666 Park Avenue was cancelled by US network ABC this week, presented the best television movie or miniseries category.

The Argentinian drama Televisión por la Inclusión was one of the major winners on the night, taking out best actor and best actress awards.

The series, which as won a string of awards in Latin America, is an anthology of individual stories exploring social justice issues such as discrimination and inequality.

The 2012 Founders Award was given to Glee and American Horror Story creator Ryan Murphy. The award was presented to Murphy by actress Jessica Lange, who stars in American Horror Story.

Other recipients of special Emmy awards include Korean broadcasting executive Dr Kim In-Kyu, the American actor/director Alan Alda and writer/producer Norman Lear.

The International Emmy awards are connected to the annual "primetime" Emmy awards, although they are only open to programs produced outside the US.

They are voted on by juries composed of television industry professionals around the world.

Full list of winners:

Best Arts Programming: Songs of War (Germany)

Best Performance by an Actor: Darío Grandinetti, for Televisión por la Inclusión (Argentina)

Best Performance by an Actress: Cristina Banegas, for Televisión por la Inclusión (Argentina)

Best Comedy: The Invisible Woman (Brazil)

Best Documentary: Terry Pratchett: Choosing to Die (United Kingdom)

Ad Feedback

Best Drama Series: Braquo (France)

Best Non-Scripted Entertainment Program: The Amazing Race Australia (Australia)

Best Telenovela: The Illusionist (Brazil)

Best TV Movie/Mini-Series: Black Mirror (United Kingdom)

-Sydney Morning Herald

Special offers

Featured Promotions

Sponsored Content