Entrepreneurs join Callaghan Innovation board

Last updated 13:39 21/01/2013

Relevant offers


Arming yourself to succeed in the cloud Telcos are under the gun from Consumer NZ David McLean gets 'dream job' heading Westpac NZ Security – the elephant in the room Cloud in unexpected places How to evaluate your prospective employer Labour leader Andrew Little targets unemployment in state of nation speech Science students learn on the job Born, or born again, on the cloud Let the buyer beware – choosing the best cloud for the job

The eight member board to lead Callaghan Innovation, the crown entity responsible for science, engineering and technology, has been chosen.

Establishment board chair Sue Suckling will chair the Callaghan Innovation Board, and will be joined by fellow establishment board members Richard Janes (a board member of Industrial Research), Auckland Transport director Paul Lockey and Australian company director Dr Michele Allan.

The new board members are New Zealand Trade and Enterprise director Robin Hapi, professor Peter Hunter of the University of Auckland and entrepreneurs Sir Peter Maire (who founded tech company Navman) and Craig Richardson of IT organisation Wynyard Group.

The board says its key focus over the coming months will be overseeing the bedding in of Callaghan Innovation operations in Auckland, Wellington and Canterbury, including bringing together the current operations of Industrial Research, the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employments’s business investments team and the Auckland Foodbowl.

Callaghan Innovation is named after the late Sir Paul Callaghan, a renowned New Zealand physicist and science communicator. It is due to be operational on 1 February.

The board:

Sue Suckling: Fellow of the New Zealand Institute of Directors, chair of ECL Group, Barker Fruit Processors and NZQA, director of Sky City Entertainment Group and Restaurant Brands, member of the Takeovers Panel.

Michele Allan: Has held senior executive positions with Amcor, Bonlac Foods, Bioinformatics Centre of Excellence Tasmania, Kraft Foods and ICI.

Paul Lockey: Director of Auckland Transport, served on subsidiary board for Lion Nathan and the board of Enterprise New Zealand Trust.

Richard Janes: Director of IRL, Wellington-based company director, deputy presiding member of New Zealand Lotteries Commission, director of Real Estate Institute of New Zealand, Gallagher Holdings and Castlepoint Station.

Robin Hapi: Chair of Business Economics Research, commissioner for the Tertiary Education Commission, chair/Te Amokapua of the council of Te Wanaga o Raukawa, chair of Maori Statistics Advisory Committee, co-chair of Te Aute Trust Board.

Craig Richardson: CEO of New Zealand-based security and intelligence software company Wynyard Group, director of its parent Jade Software Corporation. Former chief financial officer for Coca-Cola Amatil.  

Peter Maire: Director of Fusion (principal shareholder of Fusion Transactive, a supplier of retail automation systems), founded Navman in 1987 and sold it to Brunswick. Director and shareholder of Rakon.

Ad Feedback

Peter Hunter: Director of the Auckland Bioengineering Institute at the University of Auckland, elected fellow of the Royal Society in the UK and New Zealand, past chair of the Marsden Fund Council. Member of the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment Science Board – will stand down from this when he takes up his new role.

- Unlimited

Special offers
Opinion poll

What is the biggest challenge your small business is facing in 2014?

High New Zealand dollar

Supply chain issues

Credit control or late payments

Skills shortage

Compliance costs

Vote Result

Related story: (See story)

Featured Promotions

Sponsored Content