Carter Observatory photo contest: vote for the finalists

Vote for your favourite photographs

Last updated 05:00 23/12/2013
Opinion poll

Vote for your favourite photo in the Adults Category

Richard Abbott's Please Wait to be Seated

Chris Murphy's Sky Bridge

Daniel Bennett's Morning Mist

Sheng-huei Huang's Milky Way Camping

Evan Davies' Palliser Light

Paul LeRoy's Below Deck


Opinion poll

Vote for your favourite photo in the Young Adults (14-18) category

Lorraine Turner's Light Shines Through

Jonty Renner's Central City

Taylor Burling-Claridge's Bonfire Night

Cody Bridge's House Under Moonlight

Taylor Burling-Claridge's Roadside Walk

Cody Bridge's Broken Streetlight


Opinion poll

Vote for your favourite photo in the Under-14 Category

Mason Cade Packer's Cloudy Terror

Michelle Burling-Claridge's We Blew a Fuse

Larissa Posthuma's Nature Divided

Finley Jones' Suspended in a Void

Finn Maloney's Flower

Michelle Burling-Claridge's It’s Raining Light


Relevant offers

Bits and Pieces

Aurora Australis lights up the skies Our Summer Pix People's Choice winner Summer Pix: The winners Pick our Summer Pix People's Choice award Summer Pix: Week 4 winner Canon Summer Pix 2013/14 competition Summer Pix: Week 3 winner Summer Pix: Week 2 winner Summer Pix: Week 1 winner Top 10: Animal stories of 2013

The 18 finalists in the Carter Observatory 'Light & Dark' photographic have been named. And you can vote for your favourites here until January 9.

More than 200 entries were received, which the judges whittled down to 18 - six each in the three categories for adults, young adults (age 14-18) and children (under 14s).

The photographs are now exhibited at Carter from December 15 to January 11.

The public can help select the winners in three ways: Vote at Carter, via the observatory's Facebook page, or via the online poll at

In the accompanying photo gallery, photos 1-6 are in the adults category, 7-12 in the young adults and 13-18 in the under-14 section. Each category has its own poll.

Winners in each of the three categories will be announced at the observatory on January 10, and will feature on from January 11.

The finalists are (with name of entry and location shot):

Adults Category: Over 18 Years
Paul Le Roy "Below Deck" Location: Churton Park
Evan Davies "Palliser Light" Location: Cape Palliser
Sheng-huei Huang "Camping Under the Milky Way" Location: Aorangi Forest Park
Daniel Bennett "Morning Mist" Location: Moeraki Station, Wairarapa
Chris Murphy "Sky Bridge" Location: Glendhu, Wairarapa
Richard Abbott "Oriental Bay - Please Wait to Be Seated" Location: Oriental Parade

Young Adult Category: 14-18 Years
Lorraine Turner "The Light Shines Through" Location: Raumati Beach
Jonty Renner "Central City" Location: Mt Victoria Lookout
Taylor Burling-Claridge "Bonfire Night" Location: Makara
Taylor Burling-Claridge "Roadside Walk" Location: Kilbirnie
Cody Bridge "House Under theMoonlight" Location: Johnsonville
Cody Bridge "Broken streetlight Lit By Moon" Location: Johnsonville

Capital E! Children's Category: Under 14 Years
Mason Cade Packer "Cloudy Terror" Location: Kapiti College
Michelle Burling-Claridge "We Blew a Fuse" Location: Johnsonville
Michelle Burling-Claridge "It's Raining Light" Location: Johnsonville
Larissa Posthuma "Nature Divided" Location: Silverstream
Finley Jones "Suspended in a Void" Location: Eastbourne
Finn Maloney "Flower" Location: Whitby

Ad Feedback

- The Dominion Post

Special offers

Featured Promotions

Sponsored Content