48-hour film competition winners announced

21:00, Jun 15 2011

More than 180 teams entered but just one won, with their surreal take on bullying.

A group of young men from Whanganui are the Wellington region winners of the V 48 Hours Filmmaking Competition announced at the Embassy Theatre last night.

Sketch, by the Couch Kumaras, was so good that the Film Commission had plans to talk to the creators about funding further projects, Wellington competition manager Dan Slevin said.

The Couch Kumaras also won best film, best script, best cinematography and best original score last night.

The team from Whanganui gave the impression in Sketch that they had a "real film maker's aesthetic", Slevin said.

"Somebody with a really good eye was involved. It was an elegant story  well told without much dialogue, with a nice twist and really nice to look at."


Film-makers were give 48 hours to make a short film over a weekend in May. At the start of the weekend, each team was given the prerequisites of including an ex-bully called Bobby Young, the line "What have you got?", and using a piece of bent wire as a prop.

The Couch Kumaras drew the genre "road movie" and created a character who could draw things that would appear in reality.

The lead character conjured Bobby Young to a hillside and "teaches him a few lessons about how to behave", Slevin said.

The team - director Finn O'Connor, actors Josh Dey and Jared Kirkwood, composer Conor Cameron, and sound engineer Jono Forbes - were no older than their early 20s and were all from Whanganui, he said. They were the first team from outside the capital to win the Wellington competition.

Slevin said 185 teams registered to enter in Wellington, with 145 teams getting their films in on time, with all requirements filled. "It grows every year."

During shooting this year, Wellington had three major productions going on, meaning a lot of the film professionals couldn't enter. "What it meant is it was a real open competition."

Best actress last night went to Rebecca Parker, and Elliot Wrightson won best actor.

The national finals will be held at the Civic in Auckland on July 2.


Last year's Wellington winner can be seen here.

Last year's National Winner (also winner of the Qnatas Award for Best NZ Short Film) can be seen here.

The Dominion Post