Chapman Tripp awards: the nominees

03:43, Feb 04 2013

The Downstage Theatre Most Original Production of the Year

Into the Uncanny Valley - Lumina Productions

One Day Moko - Portable Union

Paper Sky - Red Leap Theatre

Circa Award donated by Tact for the Most Promising Male Newcomer of the Year

Emmett Skilton - Paper Sky


Tim Carlsen - One Day Moko

Tola Newbury - The Prospect

The Emerging Artist Trust Wellington Most Promising Female Newcomer of the Year

Hayley Sproull - Miss Fletcher Sings the Blues

Moana Ete - The Prospect

Victoria Abbott - West End Girls

Toi Whakaari: New Zealand Drama School and Victoria University of Wellington Most Promising New Director of the Year

Melanie Camp - Immaculate

Regan Taylor - Manawa

Tammy Davis - The Prospect

Brancott Estate Award for Costume Designer of the Year

Jane Boocock - West End Girls

Sheila Horton - Peninsula

Shona Tawhiao - The Maori Troilus and Cressida - Toroihi Raua Ko Kahira

Grouse Lighting Award for Lighting Designer of the Year

Jennifer Lal - Into the Uncanny Valley

Laurie Dean - The Mourning After

Lisa Maule - Michael James Manaia

Weta Workshop Award for Set Designer of the Year

Andrew Foster - West End Girls

Daniel Williams - The Tigers of Wrath

John Verryt - Paper Sky

Park Road Post Production Award for Sound Designer of the Year

Chris Ward - Peninsula

Karnan Saba - The Prospect

Paddy Bleakley, Buster Flaws, Laura Dunkley - Into the Uncanny Valley

Constance Scott Kirkcaldie Award for Outstanding Composer of Music

Claire Cowan - The Keepers

Gareth Hobbs - Chekhov in Hell

Laughton Pattrick - Around the World and Buck Again

Peter Harcourt Award for Outstanding New Playwright of the Year sponsored by Bats Theatre and Taki Rua Productions

Joseph Harper - Tiny Spectacle / Shitty Lyricism

Maraea Rakuraku - The Prospect

Tim Carlsen - One Day Moko

The Playmarket and Capital E- National Theatre for Children Award for the New Zealand Play of the Year

Manawa - Jamie McCaskill

Peninsula - Gary Henderson

The Prospect - Maraea Rakuraku

The Absolutely Positively Award for the Supporting Actress of the Year

Juanita Hepi - The Maori Troilus and Cressida - Toroihi Raua Ko Kahira

Michele Amas - Peninsula

Nancy Brunning - Clybourne Park

Whitireia Performing Arts and Chapman Tripp Award for the Supporting Actor of the Year

Gavin Rutherford - West End Girls

Rawiri Paratene - The Maori Troilus and Cressida - Toroihi Raua Ko Kahira

Rob Lloyd - The Prospect

Seven nominees for these four categories:

The Chapman Tripp Award for an Outstanding Performance

The Chapman Tripp Award for Actress of the Year

The ProActors and eCaster Award for Actor of the Year

Elena Stejko - A Shortcut to Happiness

Jamie McCaskill - Manawa

Jason Whyte - Peninsula

Richard Dey - All My Sons

Te Kohe Tuhaka - Michael James Manaia

Tom Monkton - Moving Stationery

Yvette Parsons - Silent Night

The Museum Hotel Award for Director of the Year

David O'Donnell - West End Girls

Jane Waddell - Peninsula

Rachel House - The Maori Troilus and Cressida - Toroihi Raua Ko Kahira

The Chapman Award for the Production of the Year

All My Sons - Circa Theatre

Peninsula - Circa Theatre

The Maori Troilus and Cressida - Toroihi Raua Ko Kahira - Ngkau Toa

The Critics Wildcard Award and the Mayoral Award for Significant Contribution to Theatre: announced on the night.

The Dominion Post