A glimpse inside Mt Crawford Prison
Wellington's Mt Crawford Prison will be open to the public on Saturday so people can explore the high-security grounds before it is closed permanently.
The jail on Miramar Peninsula was built by prisoners themselves in 1927, using concrete blocks made with sand from Wellington's South Coast.
After 85 years in operation, the now-outdated facilities at Mt Crawford have been decommissioned and all prisoners have been transferred to Rimutaka.
"New Zealand has moved on considerably since then and today the prison is not up to the standard of a modern Corrections facility and no longer meets our needs. We're committed to reducing re-offending by 25 per cent by 2017, and to do so, we need facilities that will help us meet that target," Corrections Services' Lower North regional manager Karen Petrie said.
At the open day, public will be able to see where executions took place in the 1930s including small door where bodies were removed and the Separates Room used for isolation punishment.
The prison's exercise yard was covered in 1959 so prisoners could use the area in all weather. Its walls are decorated with artwork by offenders.
Home to 120 prisoners at a time, the prison had a ward of higher security cells where offenders were held in rooms with bunk beds for two.
Entry will be between 10am and 3pm on Saturday 24 November by gold coin donation, with proceeds going to Women's Refuge, Victim Support, the Salvation Army and the Night Shelter. The prison is located at Main Rd, Maupuia.
The Dominion Post