Otaki dominate CSW touch awards

Last updated 10:57 08/11/2012

Touch stars: Alana Fraser and Morehu Connor-Phillips are College Sport Wellington's top touch players.

Relevant offers


Millar wins final jnr title Teen cyclist has Tour chance H-K lose narrowly to Wanganui Jennings wins NZ boxing title Opinion: H-K deserve respect Heartland season down to the wire Radio Sport will miss Telfer Uniforms give Fatales the edge H-K struggle after slow start The America's Cup con job

Seven Kapiti Coast athletes have won recognition at the College Sport Wellington Sportsperson of the Year Awards, with Otaki College dominating touch rugby.

Morehu Connor-Phillips and Alana Fraser of Otaki College won the boys' and girls' Touch Player of the Year awards.

Paraparaumu College's Lucy Rutten, Zac Millar and Liam Perry won wrestler, squash player and cyclist of the year, respectively, and Kapiti College's Georgia Groen and Alicia White won the water-skiier and service to sport awards, respectively.

While rugby and netball are the biggest sports in most schools and towns, Morehu said touch dominates in Otaki.

"It's our sport. Most of those other schools you play rugby, netball, but touch is just like a side sport," he said.

"It's something we've always played. It was pretty surprising to win."

Alana said she did not expect to win, despite claiming the award last year.

"You never go to these sort of things expecting to win. We both wanted to though.

"For us both to win was amazing. It's pretty awesome for Otaki College."

Both have represented Otaki College and Kapiti-Horowhenua, and have been selected for New Zealand age group sides this year.

Alana played for the Kiwi under- 17 team in Australia in September. Morehu made the New Zealand under-19 team, but did not play.

Both want to go all the way and make the Touch Blacks team.

Kapiti's other winners also include New Zealand representatives. Zac Millar and Liam Perry competed at the world championships in squash and BMX, respectively.

Georgia Groen is the world junior women's barefoot water-skiing champion, and the open women's tricks world champion.

Ad Feedback

- Kapiti Observer


Special offers

Featured Promotions

Sponsored Content