National names new Whips

Last updated 11:56 29/01/2013

Relevant offers


Prison staff on edge as inmates cause 'mayhem' St Bede's coaches quit over Maadi Cup row Driver dead after hitting tree in Ngaruawahia Get trespass order for son, Dad told St Bede's board member resigns over rowing row Inmate charged over latest prison attack Teens arrested after rubbish fires in Palmerston North CBD Christchurch fog clear, flights resume Parents should pay St Bede's High Court costs Child abuse rise sparks Child, Youth and Family review

National has named its team of Whips - including a newly created third post.

Taupo MP Louise Upston is the new senior Whip, with Hamilton West MP Tim Macindoe, the Junior Whip. Botany MP Jami-Lee Ross was appointed to the newly-created position of Third Whip.

The Remuneration Authority – which decides MP's pay and allowances – last year ruled parties with more than 45 MPs could have extra cash for a third Whip.

Prime Minister John Key said the trio would be a "great Whips team".

The election, at this morning's caucus meeting, comes after former senior Whip Michael Woodhouse was promoted a minister outside cabinet last week.

Whips are Parliament's "enforcers", maintaining discipline and attendance at votes.

Ad Feedback

- Stuff

Special offers

Featured Promotions

Sponsored Content