Wellington's finest vie for top award

17:00, Jun 11 2014
Steven Adams
HIGH JUMP: Steven Adams of the Oklahoma City Thunder drives to the basket against Tim Duncan of the San Antonio Spurs.

Steven Adams or Conrad Smith?

Chris Boyd or Gary Hurring?

Anita Punt again?

The capital's sporting heavyweights come out to play in the Dominion Post-sponsored Wellington Sports Awards at the TSB Arena tonight.

Adams and Smith are as good as it gets. Adams plays in the world's best basketball league and his team, the Oklahoma City Thunder, went within two wins of playing in the NBA finals.

Smith was part of the All Blacks' 14-match unbeaten run last season and is the face of the Hurricanes.


The sportsman of the year field is rounded out by Stephen Jenness (hockey) and James Hunter (rowing).

The sportswoman of the year award is dominated by water-based athletes - Mary Fisher and Samantha Lee are swimmers and Georgia Groen is a barefoot waterskier - yet it might be hockey player Anita Punt who trumps the trio and defends her title.

Wellington is blessed with good coaches, not that it is reflected by trophies in the cabinet.

This year's field features Boyd (Wellington Lions and New Zealand under-20s), Hurring, who has four swimmers going to the Commonwealth Games, Jamie Siddons (Firebirds cricket) and Scott Waldrom (sevens rugby).

Judges vote on all the awards, with the exception being the personality of the year, which is decided by public vote.

The four contenders for personality of the year are James Franklin (cricket), T J Perenara (rugby), Paul Ifill (football) and recently retired Irene van Dyk (netball).

The night is not just about the headline makers. Volunteers, administrators, teams, disabled athletes, emerging ones and officials will all be recognised on an evening where the master of ceremonies is veteran television and radio broadcaster Geoff Bryan.

The Dominion Post