Black Caps bat first in Napier ODI

Adam Milne has been included and senior paceman Kyle Mills left out of the New Zealand team who will bat first in the first one-day cricket international against India in Napier.

India captain MS Dhoni won the toss and chose to bowl on a brilliantly fine, warm Napier afternoon to open their month-long tour.

Home skipper Brendon McCullum said he would have batted first if he'd won the toss. Mills and allrounder Jimmy Neesham were left out of the New Zealand 11 as they look to field an ultra-attacking pace lineup of Tim Southee, Mitchell McClenaghan and 21-year-old fast bowler Adam Milne who was included after two impressive spells in the Twenty20 series against West Indies.

India, the world's top-ranked ODI team, named a predictable batting lineup and two spinners, Ravi Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja. 

Their pace attack is spearheaded by the experienced Ishant Sharma and exciting prospect Mohammed Shami, backed up by Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

The McLean Park pitch looked its usual batter-friendly self, with McCullum expecting it would have pace for the quicker bowlers. 

In the past four ODIs in Napier against top-eight opponents, the highest total batting first has been 275 and the chasing team has won all four.

Last time the sides met in New Zealand, India won the series 3-1 in 2009.

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Jesse Ryder, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Brendon McCullum (captain), Corey Anderson, Luke Ronchi, Nathan McCullum, Tim Southee, Adam Milne, Mitchell McClenaghan.

India: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (captain), Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ravi Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami.Umpires: Rod Tucker (Australia), Derek Walker (NZ). Third umpire: Chris Gaffaney (NZ).

Fairfax Media