Topsy-turvy results in premier youth cricket confound

It's probably fortunate that the premier youth cricket grade in Wellington does not come under the orbit of the Australian Crime Commission.

The ACC, which has created a storm across the Tasman this month with its investigation into drugs and corruption in sport, would almost certainly be concerned by the results of the opening three rounds of the premier competition.

A series of unexplained form reversals would have triggered warning flags with the ACC investigators and resulted in the players' cell phones being surrendered on match day.

In fact, the premier grade points table illustrates the unpredictable nature of school sport and suggests that an intriguing competition is in store.

After three rounds of the one-day competition, just one of the eight teams, Wellington College, is undefeated and only one team is without a win.

In addition, Wellington College took till the last ball of the match to claim victory over Scots College last weekend.

Three days earlier, Scots had been comfortably beaten by St Pat's Silverstream, who lost to the Wellington College second XI last Saturday. Silverstream had begun their campaign with a flourish, with wins over Hutt International and Scots.

HIBS had lost by nine wickets against Wellington College and by 70 runs against Silverstream but needed just 40.4 overs to dismiss the previously unbeaten Hutt Valley High School last weekend, before recording a six-wicket win.

"It's been a mixed bag at this stage - no one knows what's going to happen on Saturday morning," Wellington College first XI coach Ivan Tissera said.

"The first term can be a bit of a learning curve for the players who are being exposed to premier one for the first time.

"One advantage we [Wellington College] have is that with two teams in the competition, most of our players have had experience at that level."

The Wellington College first side has a strong, well balanced bowling attack and Scots, who made 201 last weekend, became the first side to top 150 against Wellington this term.

For Scots, the Wellington game was a match they lost narrowly by a wide margin. Scots scored 20 more runs with the bat but conceded 37 extras, including 34 wides.

Josh Lawrence and Joseph Bowden both made half-centuries for Scots while Sam Cooper made 65 for Wellington and Wellington left-arm spinner Bhavik Patel took 5-43.

This weekend, Scots meet Hutt Valley, HIBS take on St Pat's Town, Onslow meet Silverstream and the two Wellington College sides clash.



Hutt Valley High School: Myles Price Moor (capt), Daniel Binns, Mitchell Blucher, Steven Carter, Dhvanil Gandhi, Matt Girvan, Jack Griffiths, Rawiri Kapea, Pritesh Patel, Matthew Pike, Jeremy Richardson, Joe Shadwell, Declan Slater.

Hutt International: Troy Johnson (captain), Sahas Annvarapu, Ollie Flemmer, Bradley Johns, George Kitchingham, Tim Mathews, Michael Parish, Rachin Ravindra, Ben Sears, Ben Skilton, Olly Smythe, Caleb Tashkoff.

Onslow College: Tom Jamieson (captain), Andrew Cooney, Matt Croxford, Sam Gifkins, Angus Henderson, Tim Johnston, Hamish Parbhu, Daniel Pile, Angus Pryde, Alex Ridley, Mitchell Rush, Daniel Shannon.

St Pat's Silverstream: Zac Brodie (captain), Carter Andrews, Harrison Dean, Ryan Fraser, Matthew Goulden, Matt Kelly, Nic Mannix, Ben Murrow, Ben Ross, Mitchell Scott, Kenneth Tuffin, Sam von Hartitzech.

St Pat's Town: Lauchie Johns (captain), Jack Anderson, James Berry, Dylan Burnard, Daniel Buttar, Francois Cuccurullo, Zac Donaldson, Luke Ireland, Jack Jacobs, Akila Jayanetti, Aidan Keogh, Fergus O'Connor, Samuel Rixon, Charles Winn.

Scots College: Josh Lawrence (captain), Doug Beattie, Joseph Bowden, JG Bradbrook, James Costello Ladanyi, Raveen Dias, Oli McMahon, Scott Oldham, Campbell Paton, Sam Pinson, Chander Ravi, Josh Rippen, Kyle Tonks.

Wellington College first XI: Henry Glogau (captain), James Blackwell, Sam Brandwood, Louis Chemis, Sam Collier, Sam Cooper, William Martin, Sam Partridge, Bhavik Patel, Sam Petersen, Jack Sargentina, Jack Vale.

Wellington College second XI: Alex Bremner (captain), Rushmin Batuwantudawe, Adam Blackwell, Jack Edmond, Christian Gray, Nick Healy, Thivindu Kithulagoda, Christian Martin, Harrison Perry, James Russell, Louis Stevens, Franscois Swartz.


Contact Tim Barton
Racing editor and college sport writer

The Dominion Post