Chapman Tripp Awards: The nominees

Last updated 10:41 27/11/2013

Relevant offers


Inaugural Hutt Winter Festival set to stun with light displays Solo play brings Maori performing arts to stage on Auckland's North Shore Great War Exhibition temporary exhibition shows the effect of WWI on the injured NZ Music Month: Bright flowers and broken glass A simple pleasure Filling Te Manawa's foyer with more than foot traffic Stage Challenge wows as children promote personal growth and camaraderie School offers musicians chance to connect with each other - and the public Photographer to the stars: Kapiti man's night time work lighting the sky Wellington's Cindy Sherman exhibition attracts less paying customers than expected

The play Joseph K has garnered the most nominations in Wellington theatre's equivalent of the Oscars, the Chapman Tripp Theatre Awards.

In the nominations, announced today, Joseph K - loosely based on Franz Kafka's The Trial and performed at Bats Theatre in September - has been nominated in the most promising male newcomer (Sam Hallahan), most promising director (Uther Dean), lighting designer (Nick Zwart), set designer (Meg Rollandi) and outstanding composer of music (Tane Upjohn-Beatson) categories.

Other contenders include Midnight in Moscow for outstanding New Zealand play (Dean Parker), most promising female newcomer (Chelsea Bognuda), supporting actress of the year (Jessica Robinson), costume designer (Gillie Coxill) and Midsummer: A Play With Songs (outstanding performance for Bryon Coll and Kate Prior, director of the year (Lyndee-Jane Rutherford) and production of the year. The other productions of the year nominees are The Magic Chicken and The Road That Wasn't There.

The winners will be announced at an award ceremony at Wellington's Paramount Theatre on December 15.


Circa Award Donated by TACT Most Promising Male Newcomer

1. Chris Parker - Outsider's Guide

2. Joe Dekkers-Reihana - Coriolanus

3. Sam Hallahan - Joseph K

Emerging Artist Trust Wellington/Whitireria Performing Arts Most Promising Female Newcomer

1. Chelsea Bognuda - Midnight in Moscow

2. Hayley Sproull -  Outsider's Guide

3. Neenah Dekkers-Reihana - Affinity

The George Webby Most Promising Director sponsored by Toi Whakaari: New Zealand Drama School and Victoria University of Wellington

1. Hannah Smith - The Road That Wasn't There

2. Jarod Rawiri - Neang Neak's Legacy

3. Uther Dean - Joseph K

The Peter Harcourt Outstanding New Playwright sponsored by Bats Theatre and Taki Rua Productions

1. Renee Lyons - Nick: An Accidental Hero

2. Sarita Keo Kossamak So - Neang Neak's Legacy

3. Uther Dean - A Play About Space

Grouse Lighting Lighting Designer

1. Marcus McShane - Broken River

2. Nick Zwart - Joseph K

3. Nigel Percy - Duck, Death and the Tulip

Weta Workshop Set Designer

1. Andrew Foster - Red

2. Chris Reddington & Nick Zwart - Broken River

3. Meg Rollandi - Joseph K

The Paul Jenden Costume Designer Sponsored by Chapman Tripp

1. Gillie Coxill - Midnight in Moscow

2. Kasia Pol - Sydney Bridge Upside Down

3. Sheila Horton - No Naughty Bits

Park Post Production Sound Designer

1. Barney Olson - Light Sleepers' Wake

2. Tane Upjohn-Beatson - Broken River

3. Te Aihe Butler - Affinity

Outstanding Composer of Music (private sponsor)

1. Andrew McMillan - The Magic Chicken

2. Gareth Farr - Duck, Death and the Tulip

3. Tane Upjohn-Beatson - Joseph K

Absolutely Positively Most Original Production of the Year

1. A Play About Space - my accomplice

2. Squidboy - Theatre Beating

3. Whistle Solo - 99 Luftballons

Playmarket and Capital E - National Theatre for Children Outstanding New New Zealand Play

Ad Feedback

1. Midnight in Moscow - Dean Parker

2. The Road That Wasn't There - Ralph McCubbin Howell

3. Whistle Solo - Julie Hill

Chapman Tripp Supporting Actor of the Year

1. Aaron Cortesi - Sydney Bridge Upside Down

2. Ray Henwood - The Price

3. Stephen Papps - No Naughty Bits

Chapman Tripp Award for Supporting Actress of the Year

1. Emma Kinane - Tribes

2. Jessica Robinson - Midnight in Moscow

3. Nancy Brunning - Neang Neak's Legacy

Seven nominees for these three categories:

Seven nominees for the following awards

The Richard Campion Award for Accolade for an Outstanding Performance sponsored by Chapman Tripp

Brancott Estate Actress of the Year

Grant Tilly Actor of the Year  sponsored by The ProActors and eCaster


1. Barney Duncan - Whistle Solo

2. Byron Coll -  Midsummer - A Play With Songs

3. Erin Banks - Tribes

4. John Bach - Red

5. Kate Prior - Midsummer - A Play With Songs

6. Paul Waggott - Tribes

7. Renee Lyons - Nick: An Accidental Hero

Museum Hotel Award for Director of the Year

1. Andrew Foster - Red

2. Geoff Pinfield - The Magic Chicken

3. Lyndee-Jane Rutherford -  Midsummer - A Play With Songs

Chapman Tripp Award for Production of the Year

1. Midsummer - A Play With Songs - Circa Theatre

2. The Magic Chicken - Theatre Beating Presented by Time Out Theatre

3. The Road That Wasn't There - Trick of the Light Theatre

To be announced on the night:

Mayor's Award for Significant Contribution to Theatre

The Critics' Wildcard

- The Dominion Post


Special offers

Featured Promotions

Sponsored Content