Ladyhawke sweeps music awards

Kiwi pop star Ladyhawke has scored big at the New Zealand Music Awards, taking home six Tuis - including Album and Single of the Year.

Ladyhawke, real name Pip Brown, also won Best Female Solo Artist, Breakthrough Artist of the Year and Best Dance/Electronic Album. She shared the International Achievement award with Brooke Fraser.

She won Album of the Year for her self-titled debut album of infectious '80s-influenced pop, which was released in September, 2008 and has gone gold in the UK, Australia and New Zealand, and reached No. 16 on the UK album charts. She won Single of the Year for the song My Delirium, which was also performed live.

The shy and slightly embarrassed Masterton-born singer said she was "humbled" by the experience, and - after going to the podium six times in the night - was a little lost for words.

"I feel like I don't deserve this award," she said after accepting the Tui for Album of the Year. "This is blowing my mind ... I'm not very good with words ... I'm so stoked."

She called her win for Best Dance/Electronic Album "insane," her Breakthrough Artist Award a "complete surprise," and dedicated her International Achievement Award to her bandmates who "constantly stink the van out".

Earlier, on the red carpet, Ladyhawke said she was still getting over her jetlag after arriving in New Zealand earlier in the week. She has been living in London for the past two years, and was looking forward to a summer break.

The highlight of her year was "touring the States and getting to see parts of America I've never seen before".

The night's other big winner was young rock act Midnight Youth. The Auckland band, who released their debut album The Brave Don't Run earlier this year, won Best Group and Best Rock Album.

They thanked their fans, family and their manager for their success. The band opened the ceremony with a fiery performance of All On Our Own.

Smashproof won the People's Choice Award, Highest Selling New Zealand Single and Best Video for their chart-topping single Brother. The song broke records when it spent 11 weeks at No. 1.

Savage won Best Male Solo Artist, Ladi 6 won Best Urban/Hip-Hop Album and Fat Freddy's Drop won Best Aotearoa Roots Album.

The Mint Chicks closed the show with a cover of Ray Columbus and the Invaders' 1964 hit single She's a Mod, honouring the band who had earlier received the Legacy Award and were inducted into the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame.

Ray Columbus and the Invaders were the first winner of a New Zealand Music award for its hit Til We Kissed.

New Zealand Music Awards spokesman Campbell Smith said Ladyhawke deserved every accolade she received. 

"Ladyhawke is a terrific artist and her debut album is an incredibly strong record," he said.

"To see an album scoop six awards is rare, but an outstanding work such as hers is worthy of all the plaudits that it has received."


Earlier in the eveving, the stars of New Zealand's music scene walked the red carpet in a glitzy opening ceremony televised by C4 and hosted by comedian Dai Henwood.

Midnight Youth singer Jeremy Redmore said he was excited about performing at the awards ceremony.

"I'm so stoked to be opening. We've got a few stadium rock moves going on at the moment," Redmore told

The Mint Chicks said they were "pretty tired" after rehearsing for their performance of She's A Mod.

"We've been rehearsing for two days, and we've got big shoes to fill."

Tiki Taane said he had had "the best year ever".

"I've just bought a house, I'm going to turn it into a studio and make a record."

Gin Wigmore said she was laughing at the glitz and glamour.

"It's great to be here walking the red carpet, which I find hilarious."

Ladhawke said she was "getting there" when it came to her jetlag, but was looking forward to her very first New Zealand Music Awards ceremony.

New Zealand Music Awards 2010 full winners list:

Best Album of the Year: Ladyhawke - Ladyhawke
Single of the Year: Ladyhawke - My Delirium
Best Group: Midnight Youth
People's Choice Award: Smashproof
Best Male Solo Artist: Savage
Best Female Solo Artist: Ladyhawke
Breakthrough Artist of the Year: Ladyhawke
Best Music Video: Chris Graham - Brother (Smashproof)
Best Rock Album: Midnight Youth - The Brave Don't Run
Best Urban/Hip-hop Album: Ladi 6 - Time Is Not Much
Best Aotearoa Roots Album: Fat Freddy's Drop - Dr Boondigga and the Big BW
Best Dance/Electronica Album: Ladyhawke - Ladyhawke
Best Gospel/Christian Album: Mumsdollar - Ruins
Best Classical Album: David Bremner - Gung Ho
Highest Selling NZ Single: Smashproof - Brother
Highest Selling NZ Album: The Feelers - The Best: 1998-2008
Radio Airplay Record of the Year: Tiki Taane - Always on My Mind
International Achievement: Tied: Ladyhawke and Brooke Fraser
Legacy Award: Ray Columbus and the Invaders
Best Album Cover: Ruban Nielson, Screens (The Mint Chicks).
Best Engineer: Andrew Buckton, The Brave Don't Run (Midnight Youth).
Best Producer: Fat Freddy's Drop, Dr Boondigga and the Big BW (Fat Freddy's Drop)

* Did the awards go to the right artists? Post your comments below.