Nominations open for biz awards

Last updated 16:03 09/05/2012

Relevant offers

Nominations for the 16th edition of the Feilding Excellence in Business awards are open, but with some small changes to the categories.

There are nine categories: hospitality, personal, professional, retail, rural, trade/service, vehicle, education and best new business.

Additional categories recognise property owners who maintain their buildings, employers and employees who excel and business whose interiors attract customers.

Feilding Promotion runs the awards, and manager Helen Worboys said the biggest change was dropping the farmers market stalls category.

"We didn't get the support from the stallholders last year, so we said once was enough,'' she said.

Nominations are done by the public nominating stores, and judging is undertaken by shopping at them.

Mrs Worboys said the customer focus was part of keeping with the "Friendly Feilding'' theme.

Having a customer-service focus to the awards helped  keep businesses on their toes, she said.

"It's about what the customer sees.''

Any business within the Feilding town boundary is eligible for nomination, which can be done by filling in an entry form found in the Manawatu Standard, Feilding Herald or at the Feilding Information Centre.

Nominations close June 8, with the winners announced on July 25.

Manawatu Grain Seed and Saddlery, owned by Chris and Sharon Malcolm, took out the supreme award last year.

Ad Feedback

- Manawatu Standard


Special offers
Opinion poll

Should Massey students have to pay for parking?

Yes, the current rate is reasonable.

No, it should be free.

Yes, they should have to pay the same as parking anywhere.

Vote Result

Featured Promotions

Sponsored Content

Family Notices


View marriage and birth notices from around the region


Death Notices

View obituaries from around the region