Students honoured

The top students in each year of study toward Massey University's Degree in Resource and Environmental Planning were honoured with Palmerston North City Council prizes last night.

Winner of the fourth-year prize named after former deputy mayor Bernard Forde was John Harold, a previous winner.

The JT Stewart prize for the top third-year student went to John (Tianxi) Yin, also a previous winner, who plans to go on to post-graduate sudy and a career in urban design or transport planning.

The top second-year student taking the Ken Nairn prize was Anna Sanson, winning a prize for the second year running, who is keen to work here and overseas building better environments for people to live, work and play in.

The top first-year student was Kerry Wynne, taking away the David Spring prize. While enjoying the agricultural aspect of planning and policy, she is also considering opportunities to help rebuild Christchurch as a dynamic and sustainable city.

The prizes, presented by mayor Jono Naylor and councillor Annette Nixon, are worth $500 each.

Manawatu Standard