Sole submission on ward change

Last updated 12:00 17/08/2012

Relevant offers

Just one submission was received on a call for public feedback on a proposal to change the names of two Manawatu wards.

Manawatu District councillors yesterday decided to change the names of the Kiwitea-Pohangina and Kairanga wards, to Northern Manawatu and Southern Manawatu rural wards, respectively.

The council had invited residents' feedback on the proposed name changes ahead of the 2013 local body elections, and one submission was received from Cr Margaret Giles in her capacity as a resident.

Cr John Salmon proposed the council reconsider the motion to rubber-stamp the name change as he and Mrs Giles had heard from people in the community who felt historic attachments to the original names.

He called for another period of public consultation.

But Cr Steve Gibson said half of the Kairanga ward was now absorbed into the Palmerston North City Council territory and the council voted by majority to change both wards' names.

Ad Feedback

- Manawatu Standard

Special offers
Opinion poll

Will the bus shelter walkway planned for The Square be ready by the end of June?

Yes, that's the plan

I doubt it

Vote Result

Related story: Covered walkway for Palmerston North bus users by winter

Featured Promotions

Sponsored Content