Awards mark decades of service

Last updated 12:00 05/12/2013

Relevant offers

The Horowhenua District Council has recognised decades of service to the community at the annual Horowhenua Mayoral Civic Honours awards.

The awards, held at Te Takere in Levin this week, acknowledged 10 people, including Judy Curtis for 20 years of service with numerous community organisations, Joy Dewar for 30 years of service with Thompson House and the Horowhenua Floral Art and Garden Club, Val Hayes for 47 years of service to the Foxton and Horowhenua tourism, and Dr Siu Kai Haslam for 40 years of service to the Chinese community.

Certificates of Recognition were awarded to Reverend Dr Bob Eyles for voluntary services as a church minister, Paul Matthews for services to the Foxton Horse Tram, Hearing Association and other community organisations, and Ron and Ruth Seymour for services to mountainbiking, Scouts and the Levin Uniting Church.

A special mayoral award was presented to Dianne Edyvane and Fred Cockram for their fundraising efforts towards the Friends of the Horowhenua Libraries and Te Takere.

The 2013 Horowhenua Youth Scholarships were also presented. Open to people between 12 and 24 years of age, the $250 scholarships are aimed at helping youth achieve in the academic, arts, community and sporting fields.

Recipients this year were: James Gilroy, Gemma Hill, Caitlin Huria, Kara Imrie, Zoe Jacobs, Enique Mae Karaitiana-Lucas, Rebecca Moynihan, Dana Murdoch, Kelsey Renner, Britney Rolston, Kyle Williams-Simeon and Lisa Andrea Williams.

Ad Feedback

- Manawatu Standard


Special offers
Opinion poll

Have you had a garage sale lately?

Yes, it's too much effort to put all that junk online.

No, I sell everything on Trademe.

I just give things I don't want to charity.

Vote Result

Related story: Garage sale turf under threat

Featured Promotions

Sponsored Content