Marshall takes time out in Petone

00:00, Jun 06 2014

If anyone spots Lewis Marshall's name in the midfield for Petone, don't be alarmed.

The Manawatu Turbos utility is playing there temporarily because his partner is teaching at a high school in Wellington. She is also expecting a baby and when she couldn't get a job in Manawatu, they didn't want to be living apart.

So Turbos coach Jason O'Halloran agreed Marshall could play for the club he was with in his younger days after leaving Hato Paora College.

O'Halloran was happy he was at Petone under the eye of Hurricanes Development XV coach Darren Larsen. Marshall had spent the off-season playing in Spain and on his return was ready to reunite with his Freyberg club. He was one of the Turbos' better players last season as a fullback who can also cover centre.

He will come back for the warm-up game against the Hurricanes in Palmerston North on June 18 and will have to return fulltime when the Manawatu squad assembles on July 17.

A new name in the wider training squad for the Hurricanes game is former Taradale second five-eighth Nathan Ramsay. He had been playing in Dubai and will play for Feilding when he gets a clearance from his Sunshine Coast club in Queensland.


With a glut of second five-eighths in the union, the absence of Kia Toa's Tevita Taufu'i is notable. So is the inclusion of Fijian threequarter Nathan Tudreu, brother of Turbos wing Newton.

The coaches already know what accomplished Te Kawau halfback Toby Morland is capable of so they are taking the opportunity to look at Kayne Hammington and help promote Papa Wharewera as a Super Rugby prospect.

Evergreens squad to play Wellington, Hawke's Bay and the Hurricanes on Wednesday, June 18:

Backs: Papa Wharewera (Linton Army), Kayne Hammington (Feilding), Jade Te Rure (Kia Toa), Otere Black (COB), Hamish Northcott (Varsity), Troy Smith (OBM), Osea Rokubu (Te Kawau), Nathan Ramsay (Feilding), Nathan Tudreu (Kia Toa), Newton Tudreu (Kia Toa), Willie Paia'aua (COB), Lewis Marshall (Petone/Freyberg), Hamiora Thomas (Linton Army).

Forwards: Nick Grogan (Varsity), Isaac Gulliver (OBM), Rob Foreman (Varsity), Bryn Templeman (Kia Toa), Mosese Havea (Feilding), Robin Praat (Varsity), Fraser Stone (Kia Toa), Tom Hughes (Varsity), Dan Law (OBM), Inia Rasovo (Kia Toa), Heiden Bedwell-Curtis (Feilding), Doug Juszczyk (Varsity), Rhys Pedersen (OBM), Antonio Kiri Kiri (OBM), Matt Gardner (OBM).

Manawatu Standard