Role 'an honour' for Wing

Coral Wing hopes she will have many more duties as Bowls New Zealand president than she did last season.

The Palmerston North Bowling Club member has taken over one of the top positions in the sport and is the second woman to do so since the men's and women's bodies amalgamated.

Last year she was the national vice-president but aside from making one presentation at the Terrace End Bowling Club for their centennial, that was it.

"It was quite a lonely job," she said.

As from next year, the vice-president's role is to be discontinued.

Wing was accustomed to being busy but in her second season as vice-president she was forced to stand down as the Bowls Manawatu president.

"They decided I must not have conflicting ties," she recalled.

There will be no shortage of activities with her new position. It will take her all over the country, making presentations, attending openings, Bowls NZ board meetings and national tournaments. That will include the nationals in Hutt Valley.

"It's an honour," she said. "I have been pretty heavily involved in administration with New Zealand."

Wing has been a BNZ councillor since 1997 and a regional advisory representative since 1994. She began bowling in 1977 and from 2000 was the Manawatu women's centre president.

She forged a reputation for running regional and national tournaments and in 2005 was voted in as Bowls Manawatu's new president, taking over from Robin Mitchell. She held the job for three years.

At the national level, Wing has succeeded Martin Christensen (Gisborne-East Coast).

She is the third national president from Manawatu and Palmerston North to hold top office. First was Daisy Griggs in 1972, president of the New Zealand Women's Bowling Association, and then Keith McMurtrie in 1995-96.

Wing won't be the only woman at the top table. Serving on the board are Trish McKelvey (Waikanae), the former New Zealand cricketer, and Cushla McGillivray from Christchurch. The first woman president was Southland's Joy Gilson. The men and women serve alternate terms of two years each.

Manawatu Standard