Rees Scroll back in hands of Manawatu

00:00, May 15 2012

Manawatu No1 smallbore rifle team regained the coveted Rees Scroll at the Teams of Ten competition in Auckland during the weekend.

Teams of Ten is the annual North Island teams championship for 25-yard indoor smallbore rifle teams at the Howick range.

The combined Manawatu team total of 3921.203, was well ahead of second-placed Wellington who shot 3897.201. Waikato was third.

Manawatu started well, with Helen Freiman posting a 200.13 in the first round, and held the lead all day as each successive team member shot in seeded order.

The lead shrunk as they went into the second round and Wellington No 1 closed the gap, but Manawatu were soon back to their best and by the third-to-last squad, were comfortably ahead by 24 points.

Top Manawatu scorer was Helen Freiman with 396.23, Martin Hunt second with 394.22 and Daniel Morris third with 393.22.

One of the Manawatu team members, Crellan Hooper, has been shooting at the Teams of Ten match for 50 years.

Hooper shot for the winning team from Wanganui as part of the 1962 Teams of Ten in Palmerston North, which was the second ever Rees Scroll.


Manawatu Standard