Gough leaves rivals in his dust in novice tour

Waipukurau's Regan Gough cleaned up in the Manawatu novice tour, winning the general classification and king-of-the-mountain categories at Ashhurst yesterday.

Even though Luke Mudgway, originally from Hawke's Bay but now a Manawatu rider, won two of the three stages, Gough came through with an overall time of 2 hours 45 minutes 23 seconds.

Gough won the second stage, the 7.6km time trial around Ashhurst, in 10min 40sec which set him up with the orange leaders jersey and the overall title.

Mudgway won the 47km Hiwinui loop race in 1hr 14min 11sec and the 49.5km Valley Road circuit in 1hr 20min 37sec.

Hamilton's Madison Farrant won the girls' race with her overall time of 3hr 23min 40sec and she also won the time trial.

Palmerston North's Kate Stewart won the first stage, finishing the loop from Ashhurst, to Colyton, to Hiwinui and back to Ashhurst in 1hr 28min 9sec.

Hamilton's Maggie Allan won the third stage from from Ashhurst, up Pohangina Valley, back to Colyton, then returning to Ashhurst in 1hr 43min.

Sam Dobbs from Taupo was second in the boys' general classification and Mudgway was third.

Allan was second in the overall girls' classification and Elizabeth Stannard from Palmerston North was third.

Manawatu's other notable performers were Stewart coming fifth overall in the girls' competition and Nate Levin fifth in the boys'.

Mudgway won the sprint ace category while Gough won king of the mountain.

Farrant won both the girls' sprint ace and king of the mountain.

A number of the country's top under-17 riders were competing and the event was part of the national junior points series. Thirteen new national champions were crowned on day two of the New Zealand schools road championships in Feilding yesterday.

Callum Saunders from Marlborough Boys' College out-sprinted the bunch to win the 50km men's under-20 road race in 1hr 9min 50sec ahead of Corby Price (Hamilton Boys' High School) and Jack Tutill (Westlake Boys' High School).

Georgina Wilson (Auckland Diocesan School) won in a similar fashion with a late and drastic acceleration to win the under-20 women's race over 33kms in 55min 31sec.

Hamilton Boys' defended their team time trial title on the first day of competition on Saturday in Levin.

Corby Price, Danyon Inwood, Stephen Brunskill, Sam Dobbs and Nick Reddish broke the men's under-20 New Zealand record, powering through the 16km course in a time of 22min 5.42sec, to beat Auckland Grammar School and Christchurch Boys' High School.

St Kentigern College won the women's under-20 in 25min 27.81sec, beating Waikato Diocesan School and Canterbury's Rangi Ruru.

Auckland Grammar won the under-16 boys' team time trial in 23min 23.89sec, St Peter's School Cambridge won the girls' in 26min 12.29sec.

St Kentigern's year 7 and 8 boys won their event in 29min 9.92sec and Auckland's Baradene College won the year 7 and 8 girls in 30min 30.15sec.

The championships were to finish today with a multi-lap points race.

Manawatu Standard