Renwick ready to make his mark

23:00, Nov 08 2012

It's been non-stop cricket for the past five seasons for Mitch Renwick and now it is time for him to announce himself as a key batsman for Manawatu.

The 19-year-old will come in at No 3 for Manawatu in their two-day Hawke Cup game against Taranaki in New Plymouth tomorrow with some responsibility on him.

"Last year was my first full year [for Manawatu]," he said. "It was a learning experience and now I'm in my second full season, it's time for me to stand up and stamp my authority on the Hawke Cup."

The Marist man has spent the past two winters in England, having played for Brixham in the Devon A league in England's southwest and for Warley in Yorkshire's Halifax League the season before.

He said he was in good form at the end of the English summer, including a couple of hundreds, and hoped it continued.

Five seasons on the trot had taken its toll on his body, breaking his thumbs while wicketkeeping, but the last English season had helped with the mental side of his game.


He was unsure about going back but has aspirations to play first-class cricket.

"I played Central Districts age-group stuff. Definitely the plan is to get some good runs behind me for Manawatu and the rest is uncontrollable. As long as I keep putting my name out there, that's all I can do."

He said the Hawke Cup game tomorrow was the start of the business part of the season, following two Tararua Shield washouts and losing the Chapple Cup one-day final to Hawke's Bay.

Taranaki have a strong batting lineup, likely to feature CD batsmen Will Young and Dean Robinson as well as former CD opener Peter Ingram.

But Renwick believed Manawatu has a similar side, including a virtual first-class bowling attack.

Former Palmerston North Boys' High School student and Old Boys bowler Nick Simon comes into the team as Boys' High School bowler Navin Patel has an exam.

Manawatu: Luke Murray, Brynn Cleaver, Mitch Renwick, Dave Meiring, Dane Cleaver, Roald Badenhorst, Arana Noema-Barnett, Bevan Small, Tim Richards, Michael Mason, Phil Mecredy, Nick Simon.

Manawatu Standard