Campbell Stewart named Palmerston North Marist's sportsperson of the year

Campbell Stewart named Palmerston North Marist's sportsperson of the year.
Warwick Smith/ Fairfax NZ.

Campbell Stewart named Palmerston North Marist's sportsperson of the year.

Chalk up another award for Campbell Stewart, this time sportsperson of the year from Palmerston North Marist.

The club held its annual awards on Friday night to acknowledge success across the seven sports they run.

Stewart, 18, continued his run of sports awards success following an impressive 2015 and 2016.

Now in his first year out of school, he has won two Manawatu Secondary Schools supreme sportsman of the year titles, two Manawatu Sport junior sportsman of the year titles and was named the Halbergs' winner of the emerging talent earlier this year.

Stewart's crowning achievement in 2016 came at the Junior World Track Cycling Championship in Switzerland in July where he became New Zealand's most successful rider at the event.

He won gold in the prestigious omnium title and the team pursuit, along with a silver in the madison.

Combined with the two golds he won at the event in 2015, it lifted him ahead of previous Kiwi record holder Sam Webster who won three golds.

Stewart beat out finalists Antonio Kiri Kiri (rugby), Jake Beeman (hockey), George Worker (cricket) and Adam Milne (cricket) to win the Marist award.

And it was another cyclist who picked up the club's most promising award.

Michaela Drummond the award following her pair of medals at the Junior World Track Cycling Championships in the team pursuit and the omnium.

Ad Feedback

She also won the elite scratch race and was second in the madison at the Oceania championships at Melbourne, won the Australia madison championships and signed to ride for American road cycling team Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling. 

Others nominated for most promising award were Amber Phillips (football), Zane McGoldrick (hockey) and Travis Christison (tennis).

The team of the year went to Marist Senior Cricket, who won the Manawatu two-day competition for the first time since 2010.

Brett Davies was named coach of the year after leading Old Boys-Marist to the title in the Manawatu club rugby senior 2 competition.

While former Marist Junior Rugby chairman Mark Andersen picked up the administrator of the year award.

The club also handed out two gold service awards.

Lisa Smith was acknowledged for her long service to the Marist football committee while Ian Gray received his for his work in cycling.



 - Stuff

Ad Feedback
special offers
Ad Feedback