Renaissance retains championship

02:09, May 26 2014
Matt Dainty
TOP BREW: Renaissance Brewery assistant brewer Matt Daintysays being the first brewery to win Champion Small International Brewery twice at the Australian International Beer Awards is something to be proud of.

Marlborough's Renaissance Brewing is the first brewery to hold the title of Champion Small International Brewery for the second year running.

It was awarded the title at the Australian International Beer Awards dinner in Melbourne last week.

Assistant brewer Matt Dainty said he received a text message from head brewer Andy Deuchars at 1am on Friday to say the company had won the title - again.

"It's pretty good . . . we are the first brewery to win it twice."

Dainty believed the new Enlightenment range helped clinch the award.

Renaissance Brewing came away from the awards with one trophy, five silver medals and four bronze medals.


"Obviously they are not all golds so we will aim for higher next year," Dainty said.

Deuchars accepted the award in Melbourne alongside chief executive officer Brian Thiel and development manager Roger Kerrison.

Speaking from Melbourne, Deuchars said it was very exciting to win the award again, especially because the competition was "quite stiff".

"It's quite a prestigious award. I was really blown away."

"I wasn't expecting it and to get it twice in a row, it was very satisfying," Deuchars said.

"It shows that we do indeed make nice beers."

He hoped the awards would help the brewery grow its business.

Deuchars agreed with Dainty about their Enlightenment range.

"It helps us get into more categories and I'm quite proud of it. It's more of an exotic style," Deuchars said.

Some trophies were not handed out and two gold medals were awarded instead because the competition was so tough, he said.

That made the win even more special.

All but one of their beers was awarded a medal, he said.

The beer awards attracted a record 1560 entries from about 300 brewers in 31 countries and a total of 25 champion and major trophies were awarded.

The Marlborough Express