New Cawthron directors

Blenheim-based scientist Di McCarthy has been appointed to the board of the Nelson-based not-for-profit research organisation, Cawthron.

Cawthron Trust board chairman Bob Dickinson yesterday announced the appointment of two directors, Dr McCarthy and Elaine McCaw, of Wellington.

Dr McCarthy is chief executive of the Royal Society of New Zealand and board chairwoman for the Deafness Research Foundation and the Scientific Advisory Committee. She sits on the board of Grow Wellington and the Auckland Brain Research Centre, as an advisory member. She holds a PhD in experimental psychology.

Dr McCarthy is a scientist with 52 papers published in international journals, has co-authored a book and is a reviewer for funding agencies and international journals. In 2010, Dr McCarthy received an outstanding business citizen award at the Wellington Businesswomen of the Year and in 2008, was awarded an ONZM for services to education.

“Her experience in management and governance roles in the tertiary education and science sectors will assist Cawthron to continue to lead research nationally and internationally,” Mr Dickinson said.

Mrs McCaw is a director/consultant for the Cormilligan Group, which advises on strategy, business development and change management. She chairs the Victoria University Foundation and executive search firm Hobson Leavy and is a board member for Hockey NZ, the Ocean Design Group and Samuel Marsden Collegiate School.

Dr McCarthy fills a new position on the board while Mrs McCaw replaces Professor Charles Eason who has stepped down to become Cawthron chief executive .

The Marlborough Express