MBC junior prizegiving

18:36, Dec 12 2012
Wayne Hegarty
MBC head master Wayne Hegarty and First overall in Year 9 The Peter Robinson Memorial Cup, Kia Mataara Trophy for academic excellence winner Mea Tangi Me Ma'ara Ave (Ma'ara Ave) watch as a haka is performed.

Parents, teachers and students celebrated the efforts and achievements of junior students during the Marlborough Boys' College annual junior prizegiving yesterday afternoon.

About 400 supporters filled the hall for the ceremony, which formally marked the end of the school year.

Harley Paterson was named top overall student in year 10 and Mea Tangi Me Ma'ara Ave was first overall in year 9.

Harley Paterson
Wayne Hegarty and Harley Paterson.

The full prize list is:

General awards: The Junior Prize for Creative Writing, Harley Paterson; The AFS Shield for Year 9 Inter-class Debating, Joseph Collier, Robin Hancock, Josh Ludemann; The AFS Shield for Year 10 Inter-class Debating, Seren Adams, Daniel Cunningham, Tasman Richards; The Blenheim Rotary Club Prize for Year 9 Public Speaking, Dylan Pope; The Blenheim Rotary Club Prize for Year 10 Public Speaking, Daniel Cunningham; The J C Irving Prize for Year 10 Impromptu Speech, Harley Paterson; The Blenheim Municipal Band Cup for Best Junior Brass, Samuel Powell; The D Beaumont Cup for Junior Brass, Samuel Powell; The Don France Cup for Best Junior Vocalist, Hadley Hughes; The Junior Guitar Trophy for Best Junior Guitar, Corban Church; The Rockquest Trophy for Best Rock Band at Rockquest, Wired Hearts, Jayden and Jesse Paul.

The PTA Prizes for service: Library, Taylor Evans; lighting technician, Cameron Brown; sound technician, Josh Kenny; Performance music programme, Tasman Richards, Jesse Paul; International students, Supakorn Jailaor.


The Stephanie Doole Cup for a Special Needs student: Cameron Rowe.

The Spring Creek Lions Spirit of Adventure Award to participate in the Spirit of Adventure Voyage: Jayden Wikaira-Rangiuaia.

The Leos' Science and Technology Cup for Best exhibit in the MBC Science and Technology Fair: Kane Wills.

The Orchard Cup for Junior Tennis Champion: Mitchell Smith.

The P J Voss Challenge Cup for Junior Inter-House Competition: Opawa Mitchell Smith Year 10 Leader.

The Maataa Waka Ki Te Tau Ihu Trust trophy in Recognition of the ability of a Te Reo student to walk in Te au Maori and Te au Pakeha: Marcel Spooner.

Year 9 subject awards: Design and Visual Communication, Te Reo Maori (The Auntie Lou Stafford Cup), Mea Tangi Me Ma'ara Ave; Physical Education (The Wanden Cup) Nathan Bennett; Construction and Mechanical Technology, Cameron Brown; ESOL, Instrumental Music, Martin Delgado Oro Ojeda; Food Technology, Anton Horton; Digital Technology, Taran Jennison; Art, Josh Kenny; English, Foreign Languages - Mandarin, Mark Makin; Social Studies, Benjamin Parsons; Drama (The Montana Cup), Louis Rainbird;

Foreign Languages - French, Tim Ryan; Mathematics, Campbell Stevens; Science, Thomas Trollope.

Year 10 subject awards: Animation, Jarrod Abelen; Food Technology, Yr 11 Mathematics, Seren Adams; Yr 11 Te Reo Maori The Thomas Trophy, Tahu Andrell; Social Studies, Scott Atkinson-Parker; ESOL, Michael Bagayo; French, Dominic Broadbent; Drama, Ryan Cook; Core Art, Logan Croad; Applied Science, Oscar Eves; Construction and Mechanical Technology, Music, Jason Fastier; Agriculture/Horticulture The Kenneth Looms Prize, George Holland; Design and Visual Communication, Harison Kilgour; Digital Technology, Alexander Nelson; English, Yr 11 Geography, Harley Paterson; Photoshop, Callum Phillips; Specialist Music, Tasman Richards; Mathematics, Science, Jack Ritchie; Furniture Making, Joshua Schroder; Engineering Workshop Skills, Seongho Jeong; Physical Education The RNZAF Sergeant's Mess Cup, Mitchell Smith; Te Reo Maori He Taonga Akona for excellence in Maori, Jayden Wikaira-Rangiuaia; Specialist Art, Kane Wills.

Premier awards Year 9 top scholars: Mea Tangi Me Ma'ara Ave, Mark Makin, Thomas Trollope; 1st overall in Year 9 The Peter Robinson Memorial Cup, Kia Mataara Trophy for academic excellence, Mea Tangi Me Ma'ara Ave; Consistent all-round endeavour in Year 9 The MBC Cup, Josh Kenny.

Year 10 top scholars: Seren Adams, George Aitken, Alexander Nelson, Harley Paterson, Jack Ritchie, Kane Wills; First overall in Year 10 The MBC Cup, Harley Paterson; Consistent all-round endeavour in Year 10 The MBC Old Boys' Cup, Jack Ritchie; OTA Scholarship to travel to Japan, Reuben Langford, Marcel Spooner.

The Marlborough Express