Darts team too strong for Nelson

Marlborough turned on a top performance to beat Nelson 17-10 in the men's A representative darts clash in Nelson last Saturday.

Aaron Cowles and John McIlroy led the way in the Matt Lindsay Trophy clash, winning all their singles matches. Andy Parsons, Leigh Stobie and Kelly Neal all chipped in with some good play, with Rob Mesman throwing a maximum 180.

Marlborough also took out the women's A clash 15-12 with Holly Neal unbeaten in singles. Dawn Nyberg, Dianne Guard and Jennie Wheeler each won two singles.

The men's B team lost 12-15 to Nelson but there were still good darts thrown by Mike Thoms, John Ashton, Steve Loffhagen, Steve Thoms, Mark Patterson and Lewis Takimoana.

Meanwhile, in the latest round of Marlborough interclub darts played at A and P Park hall last week, Clubs of Marlborough Two downed Cowboys 12-8, Mike Thoms throwing a maximum 180 for the Cowboys.

Guard, Wheeler, Ashton and Denis Ewers were all in good form for the winners.

Flights beat Kia Toa 12-7, Stobie in superb form throwing two maximums and unbeaten in four singles matches.

Julie Neal, Kelly Neal and Holly Neal notched two wins each.

Jason Rangi and Linda Clare won two games each for Kia Toa.

McIlroy and Cowles backed up their good form for Marlborough by spearheading Clubs of Marlborough One to a 17-3 win against Rebels.

The Marlborough Express