Straker streaks to cycle victory

19:00, Aug 09 2012

A long, powerful sprint clinched Matt Straker victory in Cuddon Cycling Marlborough's Van Antwerpen Trophies event at Lower Wairau on Saturday.

The open grade 42km handicap event had a slight change of course due to flooding.

The large field covered six laps of the Swamp, Dillons Point and Rowberrys Rds circuit.

The midfield handicap markers remained intact, with the scratch markers and break group gaining only about half their handicap.

During lap five, the six-minute markers caught the 10 minute group and forged to the front on the last lap.

Nineteen riders lined up for the final sprint with Straker (off 6min) holding off Mike McManaway (10), Rhonda Murphy (10), Michelle Catterick (6) and Ben Verhoef (6) respectively.


The fastest time trophy was taken by under-19 rider Callum Saunders.

Next in were Gerard van Antwerpen and George Baxter respectively. The junior under-17 grade competed for the Amtman Trophy and the Sincock Trophy over three laps (21km).

Belle Saunders excelled to take the Amtman Trophy by seven seconds from Sam Spencer, with two minutes back to third-placed scratchman Chris Grammer.

Grammer outsprinted co-marker Thomas Westend to take the Sincock Trophy.


Open grade - Van Antwerpen Trophies 42km h'cap: M Straker (off 6m) 1, M McManaway (off 10m) 2, R Murphy (off 10m) 3, M Catterick (off 6m) 4, B Verhoef (off 6m) 5, G Henderson (off 10m) 6, M Bruce (off 6m) 7, J Blakiston (off 15m) 8, G Catterick (off 10m) 9, D Craighead (off 15m) 10. Fastest time, C Saunders (scr) 1hr 02m 02s 1, G van Antwerpen (scr) 1hr 02m 05s 2, G Baxter (scr) 1hr 02m 06s 3, T Catterick (scr) 1hr 02m 07s 4, J McKenzie (scr) 1hr 02m 09s 5. Women's fastest time, M Catterick (6m) 1hr 04m 38s 1, R Murphy (10m) 1hr 08m 38s 2, G Catterick (10m) 1hr 08m 39s 3.

Junior under 17 - Amtman/Sincock Trophy 21km h'cap: B Saunders (off 12m) 1, S Spencer (off 12m) 2, C Grammer (off scr) 3, T Westend (off scr) 4, D van Antwerpen (off 5m) 5, J Greer (off 12m) 6, J Westend (off 12m) 7, B Blackmore (off 7m) 8, S Woods (off 7m) 9, N van Antwerpen (off 7m) 10. Fastest time, C Grammer (scr) 37m 47s 1, T Westend (scr) 37 50s 2, D van Antwerpen (5m) 3.

The Marlborough Express