Hosts scoop top titles

00:13, Aug 29 2012

Host association players lifted both major titles when the most successful and biggest Marlborough Junior Squash Open was held at the Marlborough Lines Stadium courts on Friday and Saturday.

A record total of 72 players, from the beginner J grades right up to B1 grade, competed in the annual event. Included in that total were 52 players from outside of the region

In boys division one, hometown top seed Chas Craig advanced to the final without too much difficulty, beating fellow Marlborough player Quinn Udy and Oliver Reiter, of Motueka. Second seed Cameron Jamieson, of Upper Hutt, also moved through to the title decider without too much trouble, downing Marlborough's Ben Roughan and Motueka's Callum Seymour to set-up a final against Craig.

At 2-1 up and holding a 13-7 lead in the fourth game, Craig looked on the way to sealing title. However, Jamieson was not done with and fought back to win the game in a tie-breaker and square the match at 2-2. The fifth and deciding game was closely fought, but Craig eventually got on top and closed victory out 15-10.

Marlborough's Hannah Newman was the No 1 seed in girls division one.

Newman's title hopes were given a big boost on Friday night when second seed Taylor Jamieson was forced to pull out with illness in the first round.


Newman beat Anita Reiter and Dana Windsor to reach the final, where she overcame fellow Marlburian and third seed Kiriana Andrew 3-0.

The other major performance of note from Marlborough players came via Roughan, who won the plate title in the boys division one competition.

Seeded seventh in an eight-player draw, he lost to eventual runner-up Cameron Jamieson in the first round, but bounced back superbly. He fought from 2-0 down to beat sixth seed Max McDonald, of West Coast, in his second match, before producing a gutsy effort in the plate final against fourth seed Oliver Smythe from Tawa. Roughan took an early 1-0 lead and came from 11-4 down to win the second game in a tie-breaker. In the third game, he injured his ankle and Smythe capitalised to make it 2-1. However, the Marlborough youngster showed great determination and made short work of the fourth game to secure a 3-1 victory.

Boys division two was won by Marlborough's Logan Kerwin. Top seed Kerwin prevailed in his opening two matches 3-0 and 3-1, before downing second seed Cameron Phillips, of Mana, in the final.

Meanwhile, Marlborough's Megan Craig was unable to reach the main draw at the WSA World Squash Tour's Matamata Open last week.

One of several players who missed out on direct entry to the 16-player main draw, Craig was beaten 3-0 (11-2 11-4 11-4) by former junior world champion Amanda Sobhy, of the United States, in one of four qualifying finals on Wednesday. Craig's next scheduled tournament is the Christchurch Open, which starts tomorrow and wraps up on Saturday.



Boys division one: Championship winner - Chas Craig. Plate winner - Ben Roughan. Consolation plate winner - Max McDonald.

Girls division one: Championship winner - Hannah Newman. Plate winner - Charlotte Galloway. Special plate winner - Dana Windsor. Consolation plate winner - Anita Reiter.

Boys division two: Championship winner - Logan Kerwin. Plate winner - Keith Algar. Special plate winner - Tom Roughan. Consolation plate winner - Felix Murray.

Girls division two: Championship winner - Christina Oude-Alink. Plate winner - Emma Conaghan. Special plate winner - Libby Craighead. Consolation plate winner - Kristen Yorker.

Boys division three: Championship winner - Jared Iraia. Plate winner - Hamish Conaghan. Special plate winner - Logan Niven. Consolation plate winner - Rory McLachlan.

Girls division three: Championship winner - Nova Hammett. Plate winner - Diana Galloway. Special plate winner - Kaylee Ford. Consolation plate winner - Georgia Tuohy.

Boys division four: Championship winner - Liam Eales. Plate winner - Peter Hammond. Special plate winner - Joe Smythe. Consolation plate winner - Harry Middleton.

Boys division five: Championship winner - Josh Watson. Plate winner - Matthew Keegan. Special plate winner - Leo Goeres. Consolation plate winner - Jackson Tuohy.

Boys division six: Championship winner - Hayden Day. Plate winner - Taylor Kerr. Special plate winner - Tyler Carson-Hamilton. Consolation plate winner - Quintin Renner.

The Marlborough Express