Women keep their grasp on Westrupp Cup

21:05, Oct 02 2012
Andrea Corbett
Successful Westrupp Cup team: Andrea Corbett, Gina McInnes, Tracy Bary, Chrissy Guthrie, Lyn Batchelor and Emily Stenhouse.

The Marlborough women's (Eastern zone) golf team is still the best in the Tasman region after retaining the Westrupp Cup in Westport over the weekend.

Defending champs after their win in Motueka in 2011, Eastern headed west with a strong, experienced side confident of again coming out on top. Top three players Emily Stenhouse (Marlborough), Andrea Corbett (Rarangi) and Tracy Bary (Rarangi) were returning from the 2011 triumph, while Kaikoura trio of Lyn Batchelor, Chris Guthrie and Gina McInnes made up the rest of the team.

On Saturday morning, Eastern kicked off their title defence by going all square with Central zone. They followed that up with a convincing 10-2 win over Northern zone in the afternoon, before ensuring they retained the cup with a 8-4 victory over Western zone on Sunday morning.

Eastern finished the event on 24 points, followed by Central on 18, Northern on 17 and Western on 13.

Meanwhile the Tasman and Tasman Masters teams for upcoming events have been named.

The eight-player Tasman side, which includes Marlborough players, Stenhouse and Bary, travels to Dunedin in just over a week to play the South Island Interprovincials on the St Clair course. From there six players will be selected to play in the New Zealand Interprovincials, also at St Clair.


Bary is the lone Marlborough player in the five-player Tasman Masters team contesting the NZ Masters Interprovincials in Southland in November.


Tasman team for South Island Interprovincials: Emily Stenhouse (Rarangi), Kat Manaena (Greenacres), Lesley Baxter (Nelson), Emily Greenhough (Motueka), Adrianne Wislang (Totaradale), Tracy Bary (Rarangi), Jean Gibson (Karamea), Robyn White (Nelson).

Tasman Masters team for NZ Masters Interprovincials: Manaena, Baxter, Wisland, Michelle Reardon (Nelson), Bary. 

The Marlborough Express