Family affair for rep teams

04:00, Nov 16 2012

Five Marlborough teams will compete in the weekend's Top of the South touch tournament at Tahunanui in Nelson.

Marlborough is sending under-11, 13 and 15 boys teams, as well as under-11 and under-13 development sides over the hill to gain experience.

A feature of the Marlborough teams is the many sets of siblings involved. The Kim family have three boys playing - in under-11, development and under-15 grades.

Several coaches from Marlborough Boys and Girls Colleges are also involved. Adam Smith and Chad Ternent coach the under-11s while Pippa Andrews and Ella Rose Hammond will coach the under-13 development team. Kenny Hill is coaching the under-15 boys.

Teams are attending from Canterbury, Motueka, Nelson and Marlborough.

The event runs both Saturday and Sunday.


Under-15 boys: Taine Turnbull, Tawhiri Campbell, Sam Kenny, Logan Robinson, Nixon Kim, Dylan MacDonald, Levon Conroy-Mosdell, Josh Godsiff, Taine Henderson, Suita Luka, Nick Murray, Josh Thomas, Anaru Anderson, Ariki Dalton.

Under-13 mixed: Braden Healy, Matt Deaker, Jack Shadbolt, Tom Downes, Oliver Forsyth, Harrison McKenzie, Ethan Bailey, Clyde Paewai, Jayda Elkington, Aiesha Te Puia, Hannah Dickson, Ella Donald, Brooke Thompson, Evie McPherson. Coach: Elsie Elkington. Manager: Lyndon Robinson

Under-13 development team: George Murray, Ben Alexander, Tom Sutherland, Cameron Lane, Eden Fitzpatrick, Liam Annis, Liam Young, Josh Roche, Emily Dalton, Line Pale, Phoebe Trolove, Casey Lane, Parahuia Barron-Bray. Coach: Pippa Andrews. Manager: Jazmine MacDonald.

Under-11 team: Oli Lawson (Springlands), Eric Lawson (Seddon), Justus Morgan (Redwoodtown), Max Morris (St Marys), William Sutherland (St Marys), Chayce Kim (Seddon), Max Struthers (Rapaura), Tom Sloan (Witherlea), Lahana Dempster (Springlands), Olivia Robinson (Witherlea), Georgia Reed (Renwick), Tiria Paewai (Witherlea), Maiden Tupara (Springlands), Kyla Otway (Renwick).

Under-11 development: Billy Sloan (Witherlea), Kartel Kim (Seddon), Tom Hobson (Springlands), Patrick Neal (Rapaura), Kees Brady (Rapaura), Kyren Taumoefolau (Witherlea), William Mackenzie (Fairhall), Luke Thompson (Ward), Hannah Young (Riverlands), Lucinda Judge (Seddon), Kyla Otway (Renwick), Pippa Bishop (Rapaura), Kate Thompson (St Marys), Stacey Love-Nally (Riverlands), Samantha Marshall (Seddon).


The Marlborough Express