Women pip Nelson again

00:28, Nov 27 2012

The Bowls Marlborough Centre enjoyed a busy weekend, hosting several representative and interclub events, with the senior women's team grabbing the limelight.

They won the Higgins Shield for the third year in a row, competing against the strong Nelson and West Coast teams, with Kate Reardon's four clinching the title in the last match at the Blenheim Bowling Club.

After day one on Saturday, Marlborough held a slim advantage over Nelson. With two wins required on the Sunday morning, they sealed the victory 8-7.

Dorothy McLean's team of Glenda Bishop, Honey Reuben and Sandra Bunt had one hiccup but fought back for two wins, likewise Val Montgomery's combination of Roberta Marshall, Dot Capill and Beryl Macdonald.

Karen Day's team of Colleen Robbins, Frances Bradley and Barbara Lancaster had one win and Reardon's team was unbeaten with three wins.

Reardon's team of Mary Riddell, Jan Gallop and Josephine Romano won their last game by two points against Nelson to clinch the win for Marlborough.


Selector Kaki Manuera was delighted with the result and said every time they dropped a game they would fight back and win the next.

Nelson finished runners-up with West Coast third.

The Marlborough men's teams were not so fortunate when contesting the Noble Adams Trophy at Springlands, a strong Nelson opposition dominating the event with a clear-cut win with West Coast third.

Nelson held an unbeatable lead after Saturday's play and continued their fine form on Sunday morning, dropping just one game out of 12 over the entire weekend.

For Marlborough, Lloyd Gallop's team of Phil Welch, Larry Boyd and Salve Muollo had two wins, including one against Gary Watson's Nelson four.

Sanjhe Prasad's team of Calvin Hart, John Romano and Ken Paget had one win as did Greg Smith's combination of Josh Boyd, Dick Jones and Brian Montgomery. Warren Brown's four of Gerald Morrissey, Craig McDonnell and Ken Hart had no wins, but were unlucky with very close results.

Meanwhile, the junior bowlers played the Interclub Nicholas Cup at Renwick. This event is limited to bowlers with between one to five years playing experience.

The Springlands team of Chris Wooster, Murray Ingram, Tom Moore and Dave Greer (skip) won the event ahead of Riverside's Pauline Bailey, Mike Starkey, Chase Bishop and Dean Boon (skip). Both clubs had three wins but Springlands won on a countback with a higher differential.

Renwick's Matthew Ryan, Ryan McQuillan, Gordon Paterson and Dave Dalton (skip) also had three wins for third place, also decided on differential. For Ryan and McQuillan, it was an impressive start in their first competitive bowls tournament.

The Wadsworth Trophy was also held at the Renwick Club on Sunday. This is an inter-centre event played between Marlborough and Nelson clubs and does not include the representative players. The winners were Marlborough with 15.5 wins to Nelson's 8.5 wins, Marlborough retaining the trophy they won last year.

The following players have been selected in Marlborough representative teams for the inter-centre tournament on December 9:

Women: Ann Burns Trophy. Red Team: Singles Sandra Bunt. Pairs Dorothy McLean (skip), Rosemary Finch. Triples Glenda Bishop (skip), Honey Rueben, Josephine Romano. Fours Kate Readon (skip), Mary Riddell, Rosalie Summerton, Ari Boyd.

Blue Team: Singles Dot Arnesen. Pairs Lisa Hart (skip), Noeline Bryant. Triples Pam Stevens (skip), Dot Capill, Beryl MacDonald. Fours Karen Day (skip), Colleen Robbins, Frances Bradley, Barbara Lancaster.

Westrup Cup. Development Team: Singles Jessica Looms. Pairs Ann Cook (skip), Sheryn Emms. Triples Trish May (skip), Sue King, Thora Lawson.

Junior team: Singles Pauline Bailey. Pairs Haleigh Wadsworth (skip), La Rita Franklin. Triples Pauline Low (skip), Patsy Riri, Pim Mellish. Reserve Chris Wooster. Manager Bev Dixon. Selector Kaki Manuera. The women's games will be played at Nelson.

Men: McKendry Shield. Red Team: Singles Phil Welch. Pairs Warren Brown (skip), Ken Lond. Triples Salve Muollo (skip), Ken Paget, Gerald Morrissey. Fours Sanjhe Prasad (skip), Greg Smith, Graham Hood, Craig MacDonnell. Blue Team: Singles Josh Boyd. Pairs Mike McNulty (skip), Ken Hart. Triples Larry Boyd (skip), Bill Miller, John Romano. Fours Keith Maslin (skip), George Eaton, Dick Jones, Calvin Hart.

Masonic Trophy. Development: Singles Shane Kenyon. Pairs Roger Farrow (skip), Greg Foster. Triples Larry Smith (skip), Bill Linklater, Brian Maher. Fours Bruce Hitchcock (skip), Bruce King, Craig Fowles, John May. Juniors. Singles Kevin Wratt. Pairs Dave Greer (skip),Tony Clark. Triples Shane Hitchcock (skip), Simon Hitchcock, David Hitchcock. Fours Dean Boon (skip), Mike Starkey, J Walker, Tom Moore.

The Marlborough Express