Host club wins B grade final

00:38, Jan 29 2013
Emma Mackenzie
Blenheim v South Canterbury: Emma Mackenzie (No 2, in red) tries to block Henry Askin (No 4, green) as he goes for the ball.

A host club team took out the B grade competition when the Blenheim Polo Club celebrated the 40th anniversary of its annual tournament at Rewi Murray Park during the weekend.

Made up of team members Vaughan Cameron, Brodie Ratcliffe, Cameron Hunt and Roger Myer, Blenheim One were unbeaten over the three-day event and prevailed 6.5-3 over South Canterbury in the final on Sunday.

The feature game of the day was the A grade final between Williams Service Centre, which included a mix of South Island players, and Lawson's Dry Hills, who made the trip across the Cook Strait from the Rangitikei club in Manawatu.

Emma Mackenzie
Horsing around: Blenheim club player Emma Mackenzie is all style as she plays a shot upfield during her team’s match against South Canterbury on day one of the Blenheim Polo Club’s annual tournament at Rewi Murray Park on Friday

The game was a high-paced affair, with Olly Tuthill of Williams Service Centre and Will Lucas of Lawson's Dry Hills the dominant players for their respective teams. With the score locked a 5-5 at the end of the fourth and final chukka, the match went into extra-time, where Sam Martin scored the winning goal for Williams Service Centre.

Blenheim club secretary Rebecca Murray said the 40th anniversary tournament was very successful, with the weather playing its part and allowing three days of fast, action packed polo to be enjoyed by a good crowd of spectators.



A grade

Champions, JB Ensor Cup: Williams Service Centre - Sam Martin, Bryony Taylor, Olly Tuthill and Alexander Rowland-Jones.

Best A grade pony, Pratt Cup: Alexander Rowland-Jones.

Best A grade team of ponies, Elders Pastoral Challenge Trophy: Bryony Taylor.

B grade

Champions, Rewi Murray Trophy: Blenheim One - Cameron Hunt, Brodie Ratcliffe, Vaughan Cameron and Roger Meyer.

Best pair B grade ponies, Cameron Plate: Brodie Ratcliffe.

Best B grade pony, Pukka Chukka Trophy: Henry Askin.

Best first season pony, Matariki Cup: Guy Higginson.

Most improved player, RG Murray Challenge Trophy: Cameron Hunt.

Best groomed local pony: Vincent Redwood.

The Marlborough Express