Kendall claims line honours in final-lap action

Larry Kendall scored a fine win in Cuddon Cycling Marlborough's Fairweathers Winter Series event on the Rarangi-Tuamarina circuit on Saturday.

The open-grade 43km handicap event covered four laps of a circuit starting and finishing in Neals Rd.

The groups rode well over the first three laps, with all the action happening in the final lap.

The 12-minute trio of Kendall, Alan Milne and Malcolm Rush teamed well to hit the front on lap three. Part of the strong 1min break bunch was in hot pursuit, catching the 3min 30sec and 6min group with about 4km remaining. The frontrunners kept to their task, Kendall taking line honours convincingly with Milne just heading off Polly Taylor (18min) and Rush in a tight finish for the minor placings. Just 22sec later Luc Cowley (1min) and visiting rider Gavin Mason (1min) crossed the line respectively to take the time honours away from the scratchmarkers.

The junior under-17 grade competed in a massed start-sealed handicap event over two laps for the James Bros Trophy. Christopher Grammer had a strong ride to break clear in the first lap and went on for a fine win. Zac Mortimer came in just 1min back for second place with Ethan Brydon a further 1min 3sec back in third place. In the the sealed handicap Sam Spencer won by more than 3min from Hannah Lucas, and sister Brittany Lucas just another 30sec back.

Meanwhile, close competition is expected among the top riders in the Vincent Cup-Verhey Cup time trial event on the Waihopai Valley road tomorrow afternoon.

The open-grade 40km time trial event starts at the Grove Mill Winery and covers a rolling course to just beyond Craiglochart and return. Fastest-time honours for the Vincent Cup will probably be a close battle between Jeremy McKenzie and Nick Batt, with Gerard van Antwerpen and Sean O'Neill also up to the challenge. A sealed handicap will be held during the event, with the Verhey Cup going to the handicap winner.

All riders are to assemble opposite the Grove Mill Winery at 1pm for a 1.30pm start.


Open Grade - Fairweathers Winter series, 43km handicap, L Kendall (off 12min) 1, A Milne (off 12min) 2, P Taylor (off 18min) 3, M Rush (off 12min) 4, L Cowley (off 1min) 5, G Mason (off 1min) 6, P Newman (off 1min) 7, T Neal (off 3min 30sec) 8, D Hutchison (off 6min) 9, R Hill (off 6min) 10. Fastest time, L Cowley (1min) 1hr 5min 55sec 1, G Mason (1min) 1hr 5min 58sec 2, P Newman (1min) 1hr 6min 21sec 3, T Catterick (scr) 1hr 6min 25sec 4, N Batt (scr) 1hr 6min 46sec 5.

Junior under-17 grade, James Bros Trophy 22km massed start-sealed handicap, C Grammer 38min 27sec 1, Z Mortimer 39min 27sec 2, E Brydon 40min 30sec 3, E Wells 41min 33sec 4, S Morgan 41min 34sec 5. Sealed handicap, S Spencer (16min) 28min 53sec 1, H Lucas (16min) 32min 5sec 2, B Lucas (13min) 32min 36sec 3, H Morgan (16min) 32min 48sec 4, E Wells (5min) 36min 33sec 5.

The Marlborough Express