Weekly golf notes


Tuesday, May 9, Women's 9 Hole Stableford: Bev Lindsay 20, Suzanne Clifford 14, Vivienne Boyle 13, Margaret Chippendale 13.

Wednesday, May 10, Women's Kath Williams Stableford Round 2.  Div. 1: June Maslin 40.  Div. 2: Jackie McGarry 38, Anne Preston 37, Marion Tripe 36, Karen Morris 35, Wendy Swanson 33.  Div. 3: Patricia O'Brien 40, Tessa Sutherland 39, Mary Ann Jacobson 38, Elaine Porter 37.

Saturday, May 13, Women's LGU Net Medal.  Div. 1: Jane Anderson-Bay 70, June Maslin 75, Emily Stenhouse 75.  Div. 2: Julia Knowles 77, Jackie McGarry 81, Heather Stenhouse 85.  Div. 3: Claire Houliston 74, Elaine Porter 79. 

Men's International Stableford.  Senior: Duncan Hille 1.  Intermediate: Allan Parker 9, William Harrison 8, Bob Nicolle 5, Mike MacLeod 2.  Junior: Liam Keegan 40, Robert Hille 7, Rex Scoble 4, Jeff Clarke 4, Mike Ponder 3. 

Sunday, 14 May, Men's Stableford: Scott Allen 34, Graeme Parker 33, Olive Rooney 32, Hamish Brader 32.   Women's Stableford: June Maslin 33.

Coming Events

Saturday, 20 May, Women: 4BBB Stableford.  Men: Medal, Club Champs 2nd Qualifying Round.


Wednesday May 10. Fantastic weather and a pristine course were enjoyed by members and visiters on Wednesday for the women's 18 Hole tournament.

Ad Feedback

Division 1. Best Gross: Sue Murray 78. Best Nett:Emily Stenhouse 72. Best Stableford: Maria McConway 37. Division 2. Best Gross: Margaret Hastings 99. Best Nett: Maureen McKenzie 74. Best Stableford:Wendy Avery 36. Division 3. Best Gross: Maree McLauchlan 106. Best Nett: Rachael Westenra. Best Stableford:Pam Farrell 37.

Saturday May 13. Women. Eclectic. Maree Mclauchlan 33, Marianne Rienke 35. Men. Medal Agg. Tony Lloyd 66, Owen Farrell 69.

Coming events

This Saturday, May 20, Bayleys Real Estate 27 Hole Mixed Tournament. Canadian Stableford format. Entry $15 per player. Lunch and afternoon tea available to buy. Assemble 9am for a 9.30am shotgun start. Post entries accepted.


Wed 10th Womens Single Par: Overall Winner Katherine Peters +2. Jenny Evans, on c/b Trees Rewi, Margaret  Ogier -1. 9 Holes st/fd Kay Ayson 20. Lyndie Allen, Dawn Walker 15.

Sat 13th MDC Mixed Medal: Mike McConnell/Emma Gardiner 76. Clive Drummond/Judith Batty 65. James Brunel/Jane Ingram 64. St/fd: Barry Ellis on c/b Don Lamond 39. Trent Davis 38. Theo Russell 37. Brent Baker, Bob Pennington, Nigel Smith and Ken Eggers 36. Fairweather prize 6/15 Jane Ingram.  Geoffrey T Sowman prize 9/18 Judith Batty.

Mon 15th 9 Hole Stableford Mens: Allen Knight 25. Cyril Scammell 23. Malcolm Montgomery 21. Tom Statham, Hay Montgomery, Leo McKendry 19. Clarry Neame, Bob Tapp 18.  Womens: Bernice Arnold on c/b Jacqui Hurcomb 18.

Coming Event

Thu 18th Mens Par.

Sat  20th Mens Medal 3rd  Club Champs qual. Womens Single Par.

Mon 22nd Mon 9 Hole Stableford open all welcome. 

Tue 23th RSA visit 11am start all welcome.

Wed 24th Womens LGU Medal.


Interclub results from matches played at Rarangi on Sunday May 14.

MacDonald Cup

Marlborough 2 Awatere 2: Duncan Hille lost to Duncan Marfell 1 ip; Kerry Fyfe lost to Roger Dick 5/3; Wesley Green beat Tony Lloyd 6/5; Mark le Compte beat John Billingsley 8/7.

Rarangi 4 Blenheim 0: Brook Hale bt Graeme Daines 2/1; Blair Bavin bt Michael Daines 3/2; Dale Rutledge bt Hamish McNeil 2 up; Tony Nicol bt Trent Davies 3/2.

Reigning champions Kaikoura are not involved this year due to road closures.

Fairhall Cup

Blenheim 3.5 Picton 2.5: P Starkey halved with C McIsaac, J Brunell bt R Te Keeti 6/4, D Campbell 1 up over N Anderson, L Mano lost to C Moore 1/2, J Findlay lost to M McGuire 1/2, L Yarrell bt P Hawke 2/1. Wairau Valley 3.5 Marlborough 2.5: G Hagen lost to D Knappstien 1 up, S MacKenzie sq with H Robinson, Bev Roughan lost to R Johl 8/6, R McGarry bt I Newport 4/3, G Flynn bt L Burrow 3/2, Bruce Roughan bt M Ponder 4/3. Rarangi 5 Awatere 1: M Birch bt T Jordan 4/3, G Barnett bt R Caughley 4/2, D Best bt J Randell 5/4, J Butson lost to G Johnson 4/6, R Thompson bt W Westerna 3/1, D Robertson bt G Jowes 5/3.

Congratulations to David Best who scored a hole in one on No 12.

Foote Cup

Marlborough Blue 2 Marlborough White 4: B O'Malley lost to P Marfell 2dn, M MacLeod lost to P Ferguson 1 dn, N Robinson lost to C Dewet 2/3, D Watson bt A Stowell 6/4, W Harrison lost to B Nicolle 2/3, A Parker bt M Irving 1 up. Rarangi Black 3 Blenheim 3: I Hale lost to M Belk 1 dn, G Lang bt M Gardiner 6/5, R Morris bt M McConnell 2/1, T Lane bt O Tanerau 5/4, M McCann lost to B Yarrell 2 dn, O Gibbs lost to B Baker 1/2. Rarangi Gold 3 Picton 3: A Rutledge lost to A Wilson 1/2, P d'Auvergne lost to H Taylor 1 dn, N Thomson bt M Milne 3/2, G Thomas lost to J Mannington 2/3, B Godsiff bt L S Smith 6/5, L McAlpine bt G Herbert 1 up. Wairau Valley 5 Awatere 1: M Howard lost to B Drummond 3/4, D Price bt A Drummond 6/5, P Way bt S Waters 4/3, B Miller bt C Ryan 2/1, T Whiteside bt B Solly 2/1, A Ellis bt E Davies 2/1.


Tuesday May 9 – Women's Single Par. Overall winner - Beth Arnold-Johnson all square, 2nd Maria  McConway 2dc/b, 3rd  Barbie Wilson 2d c/b, 4th Bev Robb 2d, 5th  Lyn Pawson.

Friday May 12 - 9 Hole Stableford. Women – Beth Arnold-Johnson 17, Joyce Allen 16, Beryl Tripe 15, Barbie Wilson 15, Loreen Brehaut 15.

Saturday May 13 – 3rd Varnham Cup. Hiram Taylor 40, Grant Herbert 36, Richard Wills 36, John McIsaac 36, Colin Pithethley 35, John Saxon 34, Mark Ivamy 34, Shane Waters 34, Nephi Anderson 33.


Wed 10 May (Men) Stableford. Nick Thomson 41, Barry Fyfe 41, Ray Tomlinson 41, Terence Grant 40, Bruce Curgenven 40, Terry Lane 39, Murray Ingram 39, Phil Starkey 39, Clarry Neame 39, David Best 38, Jack Gleeson 38, Gordon Lang 37, Allan Shutkowski 37, Alan Rutledge 37.

Sat 13 May Artie Stretch Rarangi Members Only. Ladies Nett, Jo Rainbird 68, Sue Campbell 72, Aroha Minhinnick 75. Ladies Gross Andrea Corbett 82, Tracy Bary 83. Ladies Stableford Rete Kydd 39, Janet Laing 37, Sue Barron 34. Men Nett Rod Hill 63, Gordon Lang 69, Ian Hale 71, Neil Kydd 72, Michael Gibb 72. Men Gross Brooke Hale 73, Blair Bavin 79, Tony Nichol 79. Men Stableford Alan Hogg 39, Timothy McKay 38, Phil D'auvergne 36, Terry Grant 36,Clarry Neame 36.

Sun 14 May Interclub at Rarangi. Congratulations to Rarangi member David Best, hole in one on No 12, his fourth.

Coming Events.

Sun 21st Ladies National Teams Events at Rarangi.


Veterans golf played at Picton on May 15. Winning team, Wairau Valley - John Anderson, John McLaughin, Graham Clark, Peter Alloway. Individual winners, Tony Nicol 40, Richard Wills 40, Les Johnson 39, John McLaughin 39, John Saxton 38, Tony Armstrong 38, John Nicol 35, Alf Woolley 35, Graham Parker 35, Trevor Mc Garry 35, Brian Burgess 34, Ian Johnson 34, Leigh Somerville Smith 34.

Next venue, May 29 at Rarangi.

 - Stuff

Ad Feedback
special offers
Ad Feedback