Senior women to the fore

Players from Christchurch, Nelson, Whanganui and Hamilton joined a healthy contingent from the host association when the annual Marlborough Seniors tournament was held at the Forrest Winery Marlborough Tennis Centre in Blenheim last weekend.

Women's doubles was contested over four divisions and men's doubles over three, while there were four mixed doubles sections. Four players won two titles and three of those were women.

Marlborough's Eveline Apthorp took out the women's 50-59 years doubles with Lyn Murray and teamed up with Richard Marfell to win the mixed green section. Gail Foster joined forces with Nelson's Tania Smith to win the women's social doubles and finished first in the mixed with fellow Christchurch player Roly Mackley, one of three 83-year-olds competing in the tournament.

Whanganui's Sandra Glennie won the women's 60-69 years doubles with Marlborough player Yvonne Wallace and the mixed yellow section with Relwyn Hooper, who is also from Whanganui and was the winner of the men's 70-plus doubles with Keith Burt of Hamilton.

Results (Marlborough unless stated)

Women's doubles

50-59 years: 1st: Lyn Murray/Eveline Apthorp. 2nd: Deb Simpson/Ailsa Fraser. 3rd: Shirley White (England)/Elaine McFarlane.

60-69 years: 1st: Sandra Glennie (Whanganui)/Yvonne Wallace. 2nd: Trish Dahlberg/Wendy Hall.

70-plus years: 1st: Leona Ellis (Nelson)/Judy Shanahan. 2nd: Fay Rangi/Jean Walker (Nelson).

Social event: 1st: Tania Smith (Nelson)/Gail Foster (Christchurch). 2nd: Katrina Greenall/Grace Amaral.

Men's doubles

35-49 years: 1st: Mark Evans/Tony Fenemor. 2nd: Rob Milne (Nelson)/Gary Tait. 3rd: ??? Tanner /Nigel Fluit.

60-69 years: 1st: Kent Register/Jim Sampson. 2nd: Geoff Nalder/Jim Tomkins (Nelson). 3rd: Ian Dahlberg/Robin Auld.

70-plus years: 1st: Relwyn Hooper (Whanganui)/Keith Burt (Hamilton). 2nd: Bill Ritchie/Ray Herd.

Mixed doubles

Blue section: 1st: Warwick Graham/Debra Carnahan (Christchurch). 2nd: Gary Tait/Donna Clark. Plate: Graham Clayworth/Felicity Grant (Christchurch). Consolation plate: Weir Broadbridge/Karina Greenall. Special plate: Hiro Kishida/Meiko Kimura.

Green section: 1st: Eveline Apthorp/Richard Marfell. 2nd: Elaine McFarlane/Alistair Matthews.

Yellow section: 1st: Sandra Glennie/Relwyn Hooper (Whanganui). 2nd: Judy Shanahan/Jim Matthews. 3rd: Geoff Nalder (Nelson)/Diane Wallace.

Red section: 1st: Roly Mackley/Gail Foster (Christchurch). 2nd: Bill Taylor/Denise Taylor. 3rd: Jean Walker (Nelson)/Nigel Perry.

The Marlborough Express