Under-18s out to retain cup

20:47, Feb 06 2014

The Marlborough under-18 representative tennis team will defend the Blair Cup when they take on their Nelson counterparts at the Forrest Winery Marlborough Tennis Centre on Sunday.

First played for in 1952, the cup has been competed for 60 times since, with Marlborough chalking up 23 wins and Nelson 37.

Having last held it in 2008, Marlborough took the cup off Nelson last year with an 11-5 victory.

The fixture starts with boys' and girls' doubles, followed by singles and finishing with mixed doubles.

Girls' No 1 Lily O'Fagan will captain the Marlborough side, which also includes Abbey Hogg, Kate Rawcliffe, Rosemarie Asiamah and Jade Otway on the girls' side and Andrew Forgesson, Lee Harborne, Josh Winter and Torban Otway on the boys' side.

Matches start at 10am and spectators are welcome.

Meanwhile, four Marlborough players were this week selected for Canterbury age group teams to participate in the New Zealand Teams event in April. Torban Otway (boys 12s), Jade Otway (girls 12s), Hogg (girls 14s) and O'Fagan (girls 16s) were named in their respective age group sides.


The Marlborough Express