Double win for Ford's tiny triple

20:10, Jun 14 2013
Ford Fiesta
WORLD ENGINE OF THE YEAR: A version of the popular Fiesta will arrive in New Zealand with the award-winning engine later this year.

For the second year in a row, Ford has won the top title in the International Engine of the Year awards.

Engine of the Year: Ford three-cylinder petrol turbo (Focus, Fiesta, etc).
New Engine: Volkswagen 1.4-litre TSI ACT (Polo, Beetle, Golf, etc)
Green Engine: Fiat 875cc TwinAir turbo CNG (Fiat, Lancia, Chrysler)
Performance Engine: Ferrari 6.3-litre V12 (F12 Berlinetta).
Sub 1.0-Litre: Ford three-cylinder turbo (Focus)
1.0 to 1.4-Litre: Volkswagen 1.4-litre TSI Twincharger (Polo, Beetle, Golf, etc)
1.4 to 1.8-Litre: BMW-PSA 1.6-litre petrol turbo four (Mini Cooper S, Peugeot 208, etc)
1.8 to 2.0-Litre: BMW 2.0-litre twin-turbo petrol four (125i, 320i, Z4 20i, etc)
2.0 to 2.5-Litre: Audi 2.5-litre five-cylinder petrol turbo (TT RS, RS3 Sportback)
2.5 to 3.0-Litre: Porsche 2.7-litre flat six (Cayman and Boxster)
3.0 to 4.0-Litre: McLaren 3.8-litre turbo petrol V8 (MP4 12C)
Above 4.0-Litre: Ferrari 6.3-litre V12 (F12 Berlinetta).
As in 2012, it is Ford's 1.0-litre EcoBoost engine that earns the automaker the accolade, achieving the highest accumulated score in the 15 years that the award has been handed out.

The new three-cylinder engine heads New Zealand's way later this year as an option in the facelifted Fiesta hatch, though in Europe the engine is also used in the Focus, B-Max, C-Max and Mondeo and is the staple offering in the Indian-built EcoSport baby SUV.

Ford's EcoBoost engine.
CARRY-ON LUGGAGE: The three-cylinder EcoBoost block really is that compact.

A panel of 87 automotive journalists from 35 countries are responsible for choosing the world's best engines, and this is only the third time an automaker has managed back-to-back victories.

Voters were impressed by the smallest EcoBoost engine's power output - 90kW between 1400 and 4500rpm, 201 Newton-metres of torque from 1400 to 4000rpm - and its compact size.

Ford has demonstrated that the package is small enough to fit in the overhead bin of a passenger airplane and its overall footprint can fit on single sheet of A4 paper.


Ferrari V12 Berlinetta.
FERRARI 6.3-LITRE F12: The Italian supercar was judged as having the best high performance engine and the best engine over 4.0-litres.

With so many applications which will soon extend to several Transit Connect models, Ford is to increase production of its smallest engine in the plant at Cologne, to meet demand.

The engine may not be Ford's smallest for long, as it is expected that a parallel twin 650cc version may soon see the light of day.

The new entries for 2013 include Fiat's 800cc twin-cylinder turbocharged CNG unit that won the Green Engine of the Year Award. GM's 1.4-litre range extender plummeted from first in the class to sixth place overall this year.

Porsche Boxster
PORSCHE'S 2.7-LITRE FLAT-SIX: Used by the Boxster (pictured) and the Cayman, this naturally-aspirated engine won the 2.5-3.0-litre class against turbocharged units.

Ferrari's 6.3-litre V12 engine in the F12 Berlinetta was voted the Best Performance Engine as well as best powerplant over 4.0-litres (last year's winner was the Ferrari 458's V8 unit).

BMW lost its 2.5 to 3.0-litre class to the Porsche Cayman and Boxster's 2.7-litre flat six, as well as the 3.0 to 4.0-litre category to the McLaren MP4's 3.8-litre V8.

What is remarkable about this year's winners is that not one of them is a diesel unit.

In previous years at least one diesel engine had made it into the final 10 and had at least won a capacity class.

This possibly reflects the gains made by small capacity turbocharged petrol engines which now rate as well as diesels in terms of economy and emissions levels.

The lack of hybrid and plug-in powertrains is also remarkable, especially with such units as Toyota's Prius unit and the GM Volt powertrain winning overall and in their categories over the past five years or so.

Ford and VW each have other small-displacement turbocharged power units ready for introduction in the next 12 months, along with those by Mercedes-Benz and Fiat Chrysler, but we're not going to make predictions 12 months out.

The panel of journalists judged the awards on drivability, performance, economy, refinement and the successful application of advanced engine technology.

Ford is one of three car makers to record back-to-back victories in the 15-year history of the awards.

The Ford 1.0-litre EcoBoost has also won the International Paul Pietsch Award 2013 for technological innovation at German magazine Auto Motor und Sport Best Cars Awards and the Dewar Trophy from the Royal Automobile Club in Great Britain, plus a Breakthrough Award from Popular Mechanics magazine in the United States.

The Press