Blogger reveals initial Green Party list

01:43, Jan 31 2009

A leaked copy of the initial party list for the Green Party has co-leader Russel Norman at number two.

Right-wing blogger David Farrar said he had been leaked a copy of the initial list, and he posted it on his website.

Dr Norman would not comment to NZPA on the rankings, saying the list was confidential to Green Party members.

The initial list was drawn up by candidates and electorate delegates, he said.

Green Party members had the opportunity to do their own rankings, with two weeks to return ballot papers.

The voting papers would be put together to form a final list.


This list could be "tweaked" to account for gender, ethnicity and a balance between candidates from the North Island and South Island.

Candidates could be moved a maximum of two places, Dr Norman said.

The timing of the release of the final list had not yet been decided, he said.

In January, Green MP Nandor Tanczos announced he would not put his name forward as a candidate for this year's election and left the door open to going earlier.

It had been reported that he would resign from Parliament and the couple of people on the current party list between Mr Tanczos and Dr Norman would step aside so Dr Norman would stand a better chance of getting elected to Parliament.

But this list has Dr Norman occupying the number two spot former co-leader Rod Donald did.

The rankings listed on Farrar's blog yesterday were:

1 Co-leader and MP Jeanette Fitzsimons

2 Co-leader Russel Norman

3 MP Sue Bradford

4 MP Metira Turei

5 MP Sue Kedgley

6 MP Keith Locke

7 Kevin Hague (chief executive -- West Coast DHB)

8 Catherine Delahunty (Kotare Trust tutor)

9 Kennedy Graham (UC Law Adjunct senior fellow)

10 Paul de Spa (WITHDRAWN)

11 Gareth Hughes (Green parliamentary services staffer)

12 David Clendon (sustainable Business Advisor and failed leadership candidate)

13 Steffan Browning (spokesman for SOIL)

14 Mikarere Curtis (software developer)

15 Quentin Duthie (Green parliamentary services staffer)

16 Rick Leckinger (ministerial advisor to Ms Fitzsimons)

17 Mojo Mathers (strategic policy advisor -- Green Party)

18 Jon Carapiet (market researcher)

19 Donna Wynd (research analyst)

20 Jeanette Elley (information systems manager)

Former MP Mike Ward was down at number 29 on the list.