Auckland mountains up for name changes

00:05, Aug 23 2012
NAME CHANGE: Auckland landmark Rangitoto will be known as Te Rangi-i-Tongia-a-Tamatekapua under a Crown deal.

Rangitoto, Auckland's best known landmark, is set for a name change - of sorts.

Under terms of a deal between the Crown and the 13 iwi of Tamaki Makaurau in Auckland, the state will restore many of the names lost from official use.

Published by the Office of Treaty Settlement the deed reveals the restored names.

When finally signed, the Government will write to the Geographic Board requesting the use of the original Maori names for designated places.

Rangitoto, or red sky, or blood, will also be officially known as Te Rangi-i-Tongia-a-Tamatekapua.

The name goes back to the beginning of Maori settlement and the legendary Te Arawa and Tainui voyaging canoes. At one point in the Hauraki Gulf the two met and the latter's captain, Hoturoa, challenged Te Arawa's captain, Tama, over allegations of adultery - the name of the mountain gives the result of the fight: "The day the blood of Tamatekapua was shed."


Adjoining Motutapu will also be known as Te Motu-tapu-o-Tinirau.

Mount Albert will be recognised officially by its already widely used name, Owairaka, and Mangere Mountain will be known as Te Pane-o-Mataoho. Mt Roskill will be known as Pukewiwi and Mt St John as Te Kopuke. Wiri Mountain will becomes Matukutururu.

In another part of the settlement legislation will give dual names to places around Auckland. On that list will be Hauraki Gulf/Tikapa Moana, Motuihe Island/Te Motu-a-Ihenga and Matukutureia/McLaughlins Mountain.

Also in the line up will be Rarotonga/Mt Smart. Other names already used are: Maungawhau/Mt Eden, Maungarei/Mt Wellington and Maungakiekie/One Tree Hill.

The final settlement has yet to be signed.