Labour reveals its list

SLIGHT HITCH: Labour will release its party list today, after further revelations over donations forced a delay to the announcement.
SLIGHT HITCH: Labour will release its party list today, after further revelations over donations forced a delay to the announcement.

Labour has revealed its list - which is made up of more women than men following a gender quota the party passed last year to ensure women were represented in Parliament.

The party list determines which MPs can enter Parliament without winning an electorate seat. The number who enter from the list is determined by the party's share of the overall party vote.

Labour's list is made up of 30 men and 34 women, with women making up nine of the top 20 candidates. A further 16 men and five women are standing only for electorates.

NUMBER 30: Tamati Coffey.
NUMBER 30: Tamati Coffey.

Policy analyst Priyanca Radhakrishnan, small business owner Rachel Jones from Tauranga and former TVNZ presenter Tamati Coffey were the top ranked non-MPs on the list.

Five sitting MPs - Ruth Dyson, Kris Faafoi, Clare Curran, Trevor Mallard and Rino Tirikatene - have opted off the list as has Napier candidate Stuart Nash.

Radhakrishnan, is ranked 23, Jones 25 and Coffey, who is standing in Rotorua, is at 30.

RACHEL JONES: Number 25.
RACHEL JONES: Number 25.

As expected leader David Cunliffe and his deputy take out the top two slots, followed by Grant Robertson, Annette King, Jacinda Ardern and Nanaia Mahuta, who is the top-ranked Maori MP.

Maungakiekie candidate Carol Beaumont has slipped from 22 to 26.



Curran, the Dunedin South MP, was ranked 28 in 2011 but was not on today's list. She would not comment beyond a short statement this afternoon.

"I made a decision to withdraw from the list. I'm focused on winning Dunedin South for Labour and a hundred per cent committed to campaigning for the party vote. Not just in Dunedin but across the region, Otago-Southland region. And that's all I'm saying, okay?"

Mallard, the Hutt South MP, said he made the decision not go on on the list before the moderating committee met "in order to give people like Kelvin [Davis] a chance to be higher".

He said he did not pull his name based on where he expected to be put, saying his caucus ranking of 17 out of 34 MPs gave an indication of where he would fit on the list.

"It just gives him an advantage."

The decision was made in light of this year's changes to electorate boundaries which he says caused him to lose "more than half" of his 4825 majority in Hutt South.

"I've never ever taken an electorate for granted but I also really like being a constituency MP and only being a list one has no appeal at all."


Party president Moira Coatsworth said the list was ''an outstanding group of talented New Zealanders".

"The party's renewal and the number of skilled candidates meant that the biggest challenge was having to rank 64 people of such high calibre. We are excited by the skilled, experienced people we expect to join our Caucus team."

Cunliffe said he was delighted at the ''fantastic array of talented candidates''.

On Twitter at least some were excited about the diversity of the list.

All the ladies! #labourlist

— Sophie Rapson (@SophRapson) June 23, 2014

#LabourList stunning Line-up, clearly represents the diversity of NZ; 5 Māori in top 20, of which 4 are wahine; 7 Māori in top 35

— Gaylene Nepia (@gaylene_nepia) June 23, 20140


Prime Minister John Key National would not be introducing a gender quota to its list selection.

"I don't think that would be appropriate. In the end we're going to try and attract the best quality candidates to stand for National. I hope there are good mixtures of men and women who chose to do that, just like there's a good mixture of ages and ethnicities, but in the end we want to select people on the basis of ability and what they bring to Parliament," he said.

"I think if the basis of solely bringing someone in because they're a male or a female, it's disrespectful to that person and I don't think it's the right way to go."

If the electorate system meant mainly white men became candidates, Key said the MMP system allowed for the list to be used "to make sure that balance is rectified".

Key said he was not surprised that a number of current MPs had elected not to go on Labour's list.

"I suspect their motivations are that they know their rankings won't be terribly high.

Nothing surprised him about Labour's list "other than someone would really want to be on it".


1    David Cunliffe
2    David Parker
3    Grant Robertson
4    Annette King
5    Jacinda Ardern
6    Nanaia Mahuta
7    Phil Twyford
8    Clayton Cosgrove
9    Chris Hipkins
10    Sue Moroney
11    Andrew Little
12    Louisa Wall
13    David Shearer
14    Su'a William Sio
15    Maryan Street
16    Phil Goff
17    Moana Mackey
18    Kelvin Davis
19    Meka Whaitiri
20    Megan Woods
21    Raymond Huo
22    Damien O'Connor
23    Priyanca Radhakrishnan
24    Iain Lees-Galloway
25    Rachel Jones
26    David Clark
27    Carol Beaumont
28    Poto Williams
29    Carmel Sepuloni
30    Tamati Coffey
31    Jenny Salesa
32    Liz Craig
33    Deborah Russell
34    Willow-Jean Prime
35    Jerome Mika
36    Tony Milne
37    Virginia Andersen
38    Claire Szabo
39    Michael Wood
40    Arena Williams
41    Hamish McDouall
42    Anjum Rahman
43    Sunny Kaushal
44    Christine Greer
45    Penny Gaylor
46    Janette Walker
47    Richard Hills
48    Shanan Halbert
49    Anahila Suisuiki
50    Clare Wilson
51    James Dann
52    Kelly Ellis
53    Corie Haddock
54    Jamie Strange
55    Katie Paul
56    Steven Gibson
57    Chao-Fu Wu
58    Paul Grimshaw
59    Tracey Dorreen
60    Tofik Mamedov
61    Hikiera Toroa
62    Hugh Tyler
63    Susan Elliot
64    Simon Buckingham