Winners and losers on National Party list

The National Party has unveiled its list for the 2014 election with a big promotion for Education Minister Hekia Parata and several new faces ranked ahead of current MPs.

The list also signals likely deals in Ohariu and Epsom, with both National candidates contesting those electorates given high list rankings.

In a list lacking in surprises and largely reflecting current caucus rankings, Parata rises from her ranking of 18 in 2011 to seven this year, and is now ahead of Social Development Minister Paula Bennett who rises from 14 to nine.

Pakuranga MP Maurice Williamson has dropped from 19 to 35 after being forced to stand down over his dealings with businessman Donghua Liu, while Conservation Minister Nick Smith drops from six to 13 and Police Minister Anne Tolley from eight to 12.

Winners also include Hamilton West candidate Tim Macindoe, who is up from 50 to 28, Epsom candidate Paul Goldsmith, up from 39 to 30, and Botany candidate Jami-Lee Ross who rises to 29 from 54.

The highest ranking non-MP is Ohariu candidate Brett Hudson at 39, ahead of incumbents including Maggie Barry, Ian McKelvie and Mark Mitchell. He is followed by Mt Roskill hopeful Parmjeet Parmar at 48 and Hutt South candidate Chris Bishop at 49.

All three are likely to get in based on current polling.

Hudson's high ranking indicates an electorate deal with United Future leader Peter Dunne in Ohariu is again likely.

Foreign Affairs Minister Murray McCully is listed as standing in East Coast Bays, where Conservative Party leader Colin Craig is also standing and is angling for a deal.

National Party President Peter Goodfellow said the list showed the party was rejuvenating.

"If National was able to match its election result from 2011, we would bring in as many as 13 new MPs, alongside 46 returning MPs," Goodfellow said.

A total of 15 National MPs are retiring at the election, including list MP Claudette Hauiti who announced last week she would not stand in September after admitting to misspending on her Parliamentary purchase card.

Hauiti's replacement in Kelston is yet to be announced with the party currently seeking nominations.

Goodfellow said the list, decided by a ranking committee made up of 30 delegates who met in Wellington yesterday, balanced new blood and experience.

"However, we believe we've struck the right mix that will allow for renewal and continued stability in a third term."

Right-wing blogger David Farrar pointed out that the 75-strong list was made of of candidates who were 73 per cent European (46), 16 per cent Maori (10), 6 per cent Asian (4) and 5 per cent Pasifika (3).

It was also dominated by males, who made up 71 per cent of the list and 14 of the top 20.