Andrew Judd elected mayor of New Plymouth

Voters have overwhelmingly sided with two term councillor Andrew Judd

Last updated 16:21 12/10/2013
Andrew Judd
New Plymouth mayor Andrew Judd

Relevant offers

Local Body Elections

Gash announced as deputy mayor New Queenstown Lakes council to be "can-do"; Calum MacLeod deputy mayor Recount of Hamilton mayoral votes a two-day exercise New city ambassador and scientist roles created for Wellington city councillors Hamilton mayoral recount goes ahead Alan Livingston voted chairman of Waikato Regional Council Council staff move 30km further away from CBD, from Takapuna offices to Orewa New Environment Canterbury councillors urged to work together as equals Drink-driving Auckland mayoral candidate: 'System is rigged' Injecting Moera diversity on to a 'pale,male and stale' council

New Plymouth has a new mayor. 

Voters have overwhelmingly sided with two term councillor Andrew Judd, electing him mayor by a huge 16,883 votes to incumbent Harry Duynhoven's 7677.

Mr Duynhoven becomes the first New Plymouth mayor in more than 50 years to be voted out after one term. Other New Plymouth mayoral candidates, Craig Piercy and Chris Wilkes, did not even come close with 1595 and 1175 votes respectively. 

In South Taranaki mayor Ross Dunlop held on comfortably with 5223 votes. His nearest challenger, Selwyn Metcalfe got just 1723.

In Stratford Neil Volzke was also returned by a large majority.More results and analysis to follow.




Ad Feedback

- Taranaki Daily News


Special offers

Featured Promotions

Sponsored Content