Adams will be guest speaker at awards night

00:00, Nov 06 2012

The finalists have been announced for the Nelson Sports Awards at the Annesbrook Church in Stoke on November 28.

Seven sportspeople will vie for the Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year awards.

Another 19 individuals and teams are among the finalists in categories for teams, coaches, junior and masters athletes, while four people will be recognised with Lifetime Contribution awards. One athlete will become the Nelson Sportsperson of the Year.

Television personality Nick Tansley will host the evening, and the guest speaker will be Olympic gold medallist Valerie Adams.

Sport Tasman event manager Rita Merriman said getting Adams, a world, Commonwealth and Olympic champion, was a real coup for the region, and to cater for those who just wanted to hear Adams speak, gallery tickets would be available at $15.

Tickets for the full evening cost $85, which includes a three-course meal and drinks.


For information and tickets, contact Rita Merriman, 03 923 2311 or


Nelson Pine Industries Sportsman of the Year: Peter Hodson (lawn bowls), Mika Vukona (basketball), David Shaw (yachting), Patrick Shone (volleyball).

Westpac Sportswoman of the Year: Jo Edwards (lawn bowls), Britta Martin (triathlon), Jessica Bygate (basketball).

More FM Sports Team of the Year: NZ Women's Pairs - Jo Edwards and Val Smith (lawn bowls), ASB Nelson Pine Men's Team (volleyball), Team Seagate - Nathan Fa'avae, Sophie Hart, Trevor Voyce, Chris Forne (adventure racing).

ASB Bank Junior Sportsman of the Year: Mitchell Drummond (rugby/touch/sevens), Finn Delany (basketball/volleyball), Hamish Harwood (motocross), Connor Neynens (cricket).

Sport NZ Junior Sportswoman of the Year: Emily Jensen (football), Rebecca Kersten (hockey/touch/sevens), Simone Jarrett (underwater hockey).

Nelson Mail Junior Sports Team of the Year: Nelson U19 Men's Team (basketball), Waimea College Senior A Team (netball), Waimea College U16 Double Sculls - Sam Johnston and Sean Ducray (rowing).

Canterbury Community Trust Coach of the Year: Jade Thompson (motocross), Greg Lautenslager (athletics), Colin Redpath (volleyball).

Printhouse Masters Sportsperson/Sports Team of the Year: Jonathan Linyard (triathlon), Phil Costley (athletics), Steve Low (athletics).

Bowater Motor Group Lifetime Contribution to Sport: Bob Cooke (motorcycling), Rosalie Winter (hockey), Robert Winter (hockey), David Jones (hockey).

The Nelson Mail