Brady, Hikuroa share limelight

Netball Tasman held its final awards evening on Saturday night, celebrating not only this year's supreme winners, but those who have contributed since the regional centre was created 13 years ago.

As the Netball Tasman entity winds up and the future of representative netball across New Zealand is yet to be shaped, top players, teams, volunteers and administrators, will continue to ensure local netball remains on goal.

In the individual awards, Tasman Senior Player of the Year went to joint winners Melissa Brady and Jodi Hikuroa. Secondary school Player of the Year went to Ella Marwick, captain of the Waimea College Senior A team, and Club player of the year was awarded to Cara Wiapo of the SMOG Club, Marlborough.

In the centre-club section, the Team of the Year was won by Tasman Trophy grade 1 winners and Nelson netball premiers Jacks Office Products Depot Richmond. Club of the Year went to Waimea College Netball Club, their top team having won the South Island secondary schools titles. The Centre of the Year award went to Motueka Netball Centre.

In the volunteer awards, Volunteer of the Year went to Dianne Gregg of Nelson for her various roles ranging from an executive member to club coach and bench official. Administrator of the Year was awarded to Sonya Masters of Marlborough.

Representative Coach of the Year was awarded to Bek Galloway for her work with the Marlborough under-17 rep team. Club Coach of the Year was won by Robyn Leonard, coach of Jacks OPD Richmond and the Tasman under-19 team. Student Coach of the Year went to Luken Chamberlain of Golden Bay.

Umpire of the Year was won by Michelle Stagg of Marlborough. The Emerging Umpire Award was given to Josie Evans of Nelson, while most promising/improved umpire was awarded to Ann Spencer, Marlborough. In recognition of their ceaseless work for netball in the region Long Service Awards were presented to Ronnie Wilkins (Motueka), Barbara Kreft (Nelson), Jane Gass (Nelson), Robyn Leonard (Nelson), Cherie Chamberlain (Golden Bay), Maree Smith (Nelson) and Doug Milne (Nelson).

The Nelson Mail