Campbell busts record

00:00, Nov 14 2012

Greenacres' Hamish Campbell set another course record while Aaron Kotua emerged as the overall nett winner at the weekend's annual Kina Open golf tournament.

Having already scored a record second-round 64 in last year's winning gross effort, Campbell went one better last Saturday with a five-under-par 63 on the way to claiming his third straight Tasman Trophy title.

The Tasman representative golfer, named last week in the Toro team to contest the national interprovincial teams event, backed up Saturday's record round with a second-round 67 for a two-round 130 total, four shots clear of his representative team-mate Ryan Chisnall, who carded a 69 and a 65.

Campbell's breakthrough win at the annual two-day event on the NBS Tasman Golf Club's par-68 nine-hole course came in 2010, when he completed a four-stroke victory, having failed in his two previous attempts.

Last year's three-under 133 total placed Campbell a comfortable six shots clear of Nelson club left-hander Shaun Eggers on 139.

Meanwhile, Waahi Taakaro's Kotua scored a two-round nett 126 to claim the Kina Cup and the main prize of two rounds of golf at Cape Kidnappers with free return flights for two from Nelson to Napier, courtesy of Air Nelson.


The prize also includes overnight accommodation from the Bella Vista motel group.

Motueka's Emily Greenhough won the ladies' best gross once again with a total of 163 over the two days.

Saturday's fine weather provided perfect first-round conditions, although Sunday's conditions were less favourable, with light rain in the morning turning to showers in the afternoon.

The 84-player field included 12 women, two professionals, Jared Armstrong and Mike Gainsford, and several top amateurs.

Prize Winners - overall nett: Aaron Kotua; patron's prize: Nick Thomsen; senior gross: Hamish Campbell; r/u: Ryan Chisnall; senior nett: Shay Hamilton; r/u: Mike Robinson; senior stableford: Pete Dunn; r/u: Nick Thomsen; intermediate gross: Tom Mulcahey; r/u: Rob McGee; intermediate nett: Brent Thomson; r/u: B Williams; intermediate stableford: Mel Hanson; r/u: Russell Hume; junior gross: Paul Barrett; r/u: Manuel Bluegum; junior nett: Alan Tait; r/u: Arthur Dunkley; junior stableford: John Fry; r/u: Ross Beattie; ladies' gross: Emily Greenhough; r/u: Natalie Reed; ladies' nett: Marion Copp; r/u: Joyce Bullock; ladies' stableford: Judi Salisbury; r/u: Keriana Scott.

The Nelson Mail