Waimea's path to final made easier

Stoke-Nayland and Waimea Toi Toi United will be fighting for the top qualifying spot when they lock horns over the next two weekends at Jubilee Park.

Car Company Stoke-Nayland are the only team guaranteed a place in the Nelson two-day cricket final, though their 11-point lead over second-placed Harrington's Beer Cafe WTTU means there is still plenty at stake in their fifth and final-round contest starting tomorrow.

Taylor's Contracting Wanderers are the only other team with a mathematical chance of reaching the final but they trail WTTU by 18 points and with only a maximum 24 points available, their chances of leapfrogging WTTU appear remote.

Wanderers are at home to Randles Cafe and Bar Wakatu at Brightwater, with Wakatu unlikely to cough up easy points.

Stoke-Nayland are without their representative bowling attack for day one, so WTTU will be backing themselves to at least secure first innings points in their bid to cement their place in the final.

Sprig and Fern Tavern Motueka will host Athletic College Old Boys at Memorial Park, fresh from last Saturday's outright win over Wanderers, also at Motueka.

Motueka will again put the Bevan Congdon Shield on the line, contested only at the holder's home ground, with the challenger needing to win outright to claim the trophy.

Stoke-Nayland lead the competition on 60 points, with WTTU on 49, Wanderers 31, ACOB 23 and Wakatu and Motueka both on 21.

Meanwhile, Nelson and WTTU batsman Greg Hay is dominating the Vonda Edwards Trophy batting competition with 346 runs and an impressive 173-run average.

He's 111 runs clear of his Nelson team-mate, Wanderers' left-hander Dan Cooper, with ACOB's Greg Chitty not far behind on 226.

Wanderers' Jack White is the leading wicket-taker.

The English seamer has taken 18 wickets, one clear of Stoke-Nayland's Mitchell Ross, with Motueka left-arm seamer Andy Beatson lying third with 16.

BATTING (Vonda Edwards Trophy) - Greg Hay (Nelson, WTTU) 346 runs, 173 average, Dan Cooper (Nelson, Wanderers) 235, 47, Greg Chitty (ACOB) 226, 45.2, Kurt Pahl (Motueka) 209, 34.83, Giles Black (Wakatu) 189, 37.8, Ryan Edwards (Nelson, Stoke-Nayland) 187, 62.33, Ricky Edwards (Nelson, WTTU) 179, 44.75, Tom Cross (Wanderers) 166, 33.2, Bryan Krammer (Motueka) 162, 23.14, Sam Burgess (ACOB) 158, 39.5.

BOWLING (Sid Guppy Cup) - Jack White (Wanderers) 18 wickets, 16.88 average, Mitchell Ross (Stoke-Nayland) 17, 9.7, Andy Beatson (Motueka) 16, 13.18, Jon Routhan (WTTU) 14, 15.35, Paul van Meekeren (ACOB) 13, 15, Marty Kain (Nelson, ACOB) 11, 9.9, Marty King (Nelson, Stoke-Nayland) 10, 9.9, Joe O'Connor (Nelson, Wanderers) 10, 15.5, Craig Hampton (Motueka) 9, 15.33, Bud Jackson (Wakatu) 9, 17.77.